Robin Nix named Outstanding PRCC Employee for March 2023

April 28, 2023

Long-time Pearl River Community College instructor, Robin Nix, was surprised by the announcement she had been selected as the Outstanding PRCC Employee for March 2023. She was presented with certificates containing her nomination information and several goodies in honor of her hard work.   

Four women stand in lobby space. One holds flowers, one holds a certificate and gift card, and one holds a balloon bouquet.

“I was so surprised and pleased by this award,” said Nix. “We put a lot of effort into the school year and to be recognized for that effort means a lot.   

“This was my 20th year at The River.  I love working alongside my colleagues and helping our students reach their education and employment goals.  Thank you, PRCC, for this recognition!”  

Nix completed her academic studies at the University of Southern Mississippi, earning a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies, a Master of the Arts in Teaching of Languages, and a Master of Arts in English. She is accredited in geography and completed additional graduate-level studies at Universidad Complutense in Madrid, Spain.  

Prior to coming to The River in the fall of 2002, Nix taught at Purvis High School and USM. She currently teaches Spanish and World Geography on the Poplarville Campus. Since 2016, Nix has been an advisor for the Iota Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. 

“That Ms. Nix was nominated by a student comes as no surprise,” said Senior Vice President for Instruction/Provost Dr. Martha Lou Smith. “She wants every student to be successful, and the students know she cares.” 

“Mrs. Nix is an excellent instructor who cares deeply for her students’ success both inside and outside of the classroom,” said Deana Holifield, Chair of Humanities and Social Sciences for Hancock and Poplarville Campuses. “She also cares deeply for her colleagues and is always ready and willing to lend support when needed. We are proud she is a part of our Wildcat family!” 

Grant Holladay, a current student, nominated Nix for the honor. 

“Ms. Nix is always there to help students,” said Grant. “She has a caring and upbeat personality. Ms. Nix has helped me in countless ways and is truly a servant to her students.” 

Anyone wishing to nominate a current PRCC employee can do so monthly through the PRCC website at  

PRCC Employees Nominated in March  

Cheri Alder, Jamie Amacker, Mike Bass, Dr. Dan Browning, Dr. Melissa Bryant, Lonnie Burchell, Entire Cafeteria Staff, Melinda Carlisle, Whitney Chambers, Dustin Chambliss, Jennifer Cottrell, Erin Couey, Beverly Courtney, Amy Duke, Rashan Foxworth, Jason Francis, Matthew Gordon, Eileen Hall, Lateesha Hatten, Maynard Hyland, Audrey Jackson, Tyler Johnson, Heath Ladner, Robert Maynard, Sam McNease, Christina Miller, Ramona Moore, Dr. Amanda Parker, Wayne Peters, Monika Phillips, Jerry Pickering, Dr. Ryan Ruckel, Dr. Jennifer Seal, Rylan Shaw, Emily Sheckells, Cavin Skidmore, Jaclyn Smith, Corey Squires, Anna Standberry, Melinda Stuart, Sonya Tapper, Dr. Tracie Thornton, Jeff Tinnon, Reginald Townsend, Jim Walsh, and Kristie Windham. 

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), Facebook (@PRCCMKTG), and TikTok (@prcc_wildcats).

Article by Laura O’Neill.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.