PRCC Middle College students prepare for graduation exercises

May 2, 2024

High school students graduating from Middle College at Pearl River Community College participated in a Cord Ceremony Monday night (April 29) in the Dr. J. Cecil Burt Events Room at the Forrest County Campus.

Twenty-two high school students stand in group, each wearing a cold cord with tassels.
Middle College students honored at cording ceremony.

A record number of 36 students received their graduation cords and can also participate in PRCC’s graduation ceremony May 10 in Poplarville.

High school students were enrolled in high school and college courses at the same time.

“Middle College falls under the dual enrollment umbrella at Pearl River Community College,” said Dr. Karen Bond, PRCC’s Director of Dual Enrollment. “Beginning with the fall semester of their junior year, qualifying students take a full load (15 or 16 hours) of dual-credit classes at Pearl River. Then they can graduate from PRCC with an associate’s degree when they finish high school.”

She said high school qualified students from throughout the Pearl River district are either taking their classes online, on the PRCC campuses or at their high school from qualified teachers.

Three women and one man stand in line with Pearl River Community College step and repeat behind them.
Staff from the Office of Dual Enrollment. From the left: Lisa Mapp, Dr. Karen Bond, Trael Hinton, and Thelma Keith.

PRCC President Dr. Adam Breerwood told students they had the drive and determination to be successful.

“We think this is a tremendous pathway to success,” he said. “You all have shown that you have potential. College can be very difficult as it is. But you handled the adversity along the way. You are headed for great things.”  

The 2024 Middle College graduates include:

Forrest County AHS – Anthony Gibson and Brianna Nelson.

Hattiesburg High School – Gabrielle Allen, Ziola Austin, Raven Baker, Gabrielle Banks, Yessica Bernal-Solis, Leilani Bradley, Gabrielle Cox, Laila Esters, Jaiya Houston, Raniya Johnson, India Lee, Kieayla McKnight, Aviyana Myers, England Pruitt, Kye Reese, Logan Rich, Kara Sellers, Sydney Smith, Mackenzie Somerall, Lucas Steele, Joel Vaughn II, Quinton Ward and Helen Yang.

Oak Grove High School – Natalie Grover, Isabelle Karns and Kaeden Thigpen.

Petal High School – Lurah Anderson, Banks Pollitz and Emily Smith.        

Purvis High School – Brianna Brewer, Timberlynn Gipson, Taylor Jones and Kelby Wingo.

Sumrall High School – Tyler Albert.

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), Facebook (@PRCCMKTG), and TikTok (@prcc_wildcats).

Article by Chuck Abadie. Photography by Caitlyn Jones.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.