PRCC Dental Hygiene program graduates 15

May 6, 2024

Pearl River Community College’s Dental Hygiene program pinned 15 graduates in a ceremony Thursday (May 2) at the Dr. Cecil Burt Special Events Room at the Forrest County Campus. 

Students sit and stand in front of Pearl River Community College backdrop with instructors on the side.
The 2024 Dental Hygiene graduating class with program instructors.

The students included Shelby Beard of Leakesville, Brooke Behar of New Orleans, Presley Brownlee of Laurel, Hannah Campbell of Jacksonville, Fla., Addison Carter of Poplarville, Alex Chauffe of Slidell, La., Carlee Daniels of Brookhaven, Amy Dietrich of Ocean Springs, Katelyn Gab of Chalmette, La., Erika Gibson of d’Iberville, Lyndsay Holloway of Hattiesburg, Mary Jennings of Gulfport, Alaina May of Laurel, Olivia Peters of Ocean Springs and Jacob Scott of Lucedale.

Chauffe was named the most outstanding dental hygiene student; Carter the Colgate Star student; May, Gibson and Carter the Sigma Phi Alpha Dental Hygiene Honor Society award; Scott the Hu-Friedy Golden Scaler student; Gab the PRCC Patient Education student; May the MDHA Achievement award; PRCC Table Clinic awards include Peters, Behlar and Carter; Gibson and Behlar, the Dr. Frank Turnage Galatians 5: 22-23 Award; and Scott, Class president.  

Students stand in line with guests in chairs behind them.
The 2024 Dental Hygiene graduating class recites the Dental Hygiene oath.

Department Chairman is Dr. Shana Allen. Instructors are Abbie Johnson, Charity McCoy, Veunka Gulley and Dr. Frank Turnage. 

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), Facebook (@PRCCMKTG), and TikTok (@prcc_wildcats).

Article by Chuck Abadie. Photography by Kaitlyn Jones.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.