Exceptional students recognized at PRCC 2024 Awards Day

April 19, 2024

The 2024 Awards Day was hosted in the Ethel Holden Brownstone Center for the Arts at Pearl River Community College on Monday, April 15. Faculty, staff, family, and friends joined together to celebrate student accomplishments while wishing them success in their future endeavors. 

Dozens of men and women stand or kneel for group photo on stage.
Students recognized at Awards Day 2024 for Poplarville and Hancock Campuses. (Lauren P. Johnson, photographer)

Vice President for Poplarville Campus and Student Services Jeff Long welcomed everyone to the ceremony. He thanked everyone in attendance for their role in helping the students succeed. 

“This is such a wonderful time of the year,” said Long. “Congratulations to our students. Your hard work and dedication have paid off.”  

The presentations began by recognizing the three students in the Iota Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa named to the All-Mississippi Academic Team this year: Alllison Gobuzzi of Picayune, Devyn Lee of Carriere, and Angeline Palisi of Diamondhead. Gobuzzi was also recognized as a Phi Theta Kappa 2023 Coca-Cola Silver Scholar while Lee was recognized as a Coca-Cola Gold Scholar. Gobuzzi was then singled out as the lone Jack Kent Cooke Semifinalist for PRCC. 

Six smiling young women stand in line on stage.
Phi Theta Kappa and Presidential Scholarship Recipients for Awards Day 2024.(Laura O’Neill, photographer)

Jaime Missimer, Assistant Director of Financial Aid, presented a University of Southern Mississippi Presidential Transfer Scholarship to Olivia Reid of Poplarville from the Poplarville Campus and Bailey Parker of Kiln from Hancock Campus. The Mississippi State University Presidential Partnership Scholarship was presented to Karsen Vick of Moss Point. 

The top students for each department across career technical education programs and main academic pathways were recognized.  

Seventeen men and women stand in two rows on stage.
Recipients for Academic department awards.(Lauren P. Johnson, photographer)

Department of First-Year Experience 
Learning and Life Skills: Daisie Diaz Ellis of Purvis 

Department of Business Technology 
Business Management Technology: Carolyn Pullens of Poplarville 
Medical Billing and Coding Technology: Sharon Fairley of Carson 
Accounting Technology: Tessa Polson of Purvis 

Department of Family & Consumer Sciences 
Barbering: Michael Mickey of Slidell, LA and Juvonta Raymond of Picayune 
Cosmetology: Jaycee Esque of Diamondhead 
Early Childhood Technology: Lashonda Berry of Bay St Louis 

Department of Drafting, Construction & Transportation 
Drafting & Design Technology: Nacole Pozzi of Lumberton 
Utility Lineman Technology: Noah Breland of Franklinton, LA  

Department of Manufacturing Technology 
Automation & Controls Technology: Brennan Carlisle of Lumberton and Jeremy DeJean of  Picayune 
Electronics Technology: Destiny Taylor of Carriere 

Fourteen men and women stand in two rows on stage.
Recipients of Allied Health and Career Technical Department awards.(Lauren P. Johnson, photographer)

Department of Fine Arts and Communication 
Theatre: Micaiah Rosa of Hattiesburg 
Music: Landon Berryhill of Mount Olive 
Public Speaking: Jessica Gomez Medina of Hattiesburg 
Art: Joshua Keith of Poplarville 

Department of Humanities and Social Sciences 
English: Brody Williams of Sumrall 
History: Emily Hill of Carriere 
Sociology: Andrea Cloyd of Lumberton  
Psychology: Emily Hill of Carriere 

Department of Marketing, Media, & Information Technology 
Business Marketing & Management Technology: Audrianna Keller of Sandy Hook 
Computer Networking Technology: Daniel Lee of Diamondhead  
Film and Video Technology: Claudia Nelon of Picayune 
Cyber Security Technology: Ryan Weir of Carriere 

Department of Nursing Education 
ADN Traditional Year 1: Gabrielle Carco of Bay St Louis 
ADN Traditional Year 2: Taylor Lancon of Picayune 
LPN to ADN Day: Audry Blalock of Hattiesburg 
LPN to ADN Evening: Brandi Terlingo of Slidell, LA 

Department of Occupational Training 
Automotive Technology: Christian Welch of Carriere 
Electrical Technology: Carter Byrd of Lumberton  
Heating, AC & Refrigeration Technology: Carter Byrd of Lumberton  
Welding Technology: Logan Lee of Carriere 

Department of Science, Mathematics, and Business  
Accounting: Lane Gex of Kiln 
Biology: Palmer Adam of Picayune  
Business: Lane Gex of Kiln  
Chemistry: Erica Rabalais of Bay St Louis 
Physics: John Bowman of Kiln 
Mathematics: Michael Mims of Carriere  
Engineering: Jacob Hodgins of Moss Point 
Anatomy and Physiology: Monica Caro of Picayune 

Two men and two women stand in row on stage.
Recipients for Hancock Campus awards.(Laura O’Neill, photographer)

Hancock Campus 
Leadership: Bianchinetta Robinson of Pass Christian  
Citizenship: Madison Doyle of Bay St Louis 
History: Mallory Bolian of Diamondhead 
English: Mallory Bolian of Diamondhead  
Mathematics: Harmony Boyanton of Diamondhead  
Sociology: Abigail Smith of Diamondhead  
Psychology: Tiersa Dearman of Diamondhead 
Welding Technology: James Payne III of Pass Christian  
Unmanned Aerial Systems: Cagney Applewhite of Sumrall  
Practical Nursing: Danyel McMillan of Long Beach 
Hydrography Technology: Colin Hunt of Lumberton 

Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation 
Male Scholar Athlete: Tucker Smith of Poplarville  
Female Scholar Athlete: Jessica Lawrence of Ocean Springs 
Wildcat Wellness: Daniel Coward of Hattiesburg, Calvin Garret Rester of Carriere, and Zavion Pittman of Sandy Hook  

The Wildcat Way Award 2023-202 
Every year faculty members nominate students who best exemplify living out the “Wildcat Way.” They show the attributes of Pride, Respect, Class, and Character both in and out of the classroom. 

David Francis of Carriere 
Dalania Knight of Columbia 
Sydney Thornton of Sumrall 

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit PRCC.edu and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), Facebook (@PRCCMKTG), and TikTok (@prcc_wildcats).

Article by Laura O’Neill. Photography by Lauren P. Johnson and Laura O’Neill.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.