Three Wildcats named All-Region in football

POPLARVILLE Pearl River Community College placed three football standouts on the 2011 All-Region 23 team, while three other Wildcats joined the trio on the All-MACJC South Division first or second team listing. Linebacker Chris Bermond of Hancock County High, wide receiver Jonathan Duncan of Oak Grove High, and offensive lineman Chandlor Mathews of St. Stanislaus College were named to the all-regional squad; while the trio were joined on the All-MACJC South Division first team listing by quarterback Melvin German who prepped at Dunbar High in Fort Myers, Fla., and defensive back Steve McNair, Jr., of Oak Grove High. Wide receiver Seth Roberts out of McKay Academy in Tallahassee, Fla., was named to the All-South Division second team squad. Bermond finished his sophomore campaign as the Wildcats leading tackler with 77 stops (28 solo, 49 assists), including five tackles for losses and a pass break up. As a freshman in 2010, he was the third-leading tackler on the team with 71 stops (30 solo, 41 assists), including six TFLs, two quarterback sacks, and a forced fumble. Duncan etched himself in the PRCC record book with his 2011 efforts. The sophomore finished the season with 65 catches (second-most in history) for 718 yards (ninth-most in history) and four touchdowns, averaging a team-best 11.05 yards per catch. Duncan pass-catching feats are second to Desmond Ratliff 85-reception season in 2009. All told, he finished his Wildcat career with 101 receptions for 880 yards and five TDs. Mathews graded exceptionally well in all The River contests the past two seasons. German, who was named All-American and All-Region 23 a year ago, as well as being the regional Most Valuable Player and the MACJC South Division Most Valuable Back, wrapped his Wildcat career with 5,849 passing yards 3,121 in 2011, 2,728 in 2010 which is the second-most in PRCC history. All told, German completed 533 passes on 822 attempts (64.8 percent) with a total of 23 interceptions and 38 touchdowns. In addition, he ran for 14 touchdowns over the past two years, finishing as the team leading scorer in 2010 and tied for first this past season. Only two-time NJCAA Offensive Player of the Year and first-team All-American Jimmy Oliver has passed for more yardage with 6,308 in 2004”s 12-game and 2005”s nine-game seasons. McNair was an All-Region 23 and All-MACJC South Division selection last season as a wide receiver, but moved to the defensive side for this sophomore year. Roberts finished second on the team in 2011 in pass receiving with 56 catches for 557 yards and six touchdowns. As a freshman in 2010, he led the team with 49 receptions for 733 yards and six scores and averaged a team-best 15 yards a catch. All told, Roberts finished his Wildcat career with 105 catches fo 1,290 yards. Pearl River finished the 2011 season at 4-5 overall and 3-3 in the South Division, missing the post-season playoffs for a third straight season. Buddy Stephens, a former PRCC assistant who is now head coach at state champion East Mississippi (defeated Mississippi Gulf Coast 42-17 this past Saturday for the state title), was named the MACJC Coach of the Year. Here is a complete listing (alphabetically by school) of the All-Region 23 selections:COPIAH-LINCOLN: DB Dehendret Collins, DL Terrell Hartsfield.EAST CENTRAL: LB Chris Ficklin.EAST MISSISSIPPI: DL Denico Autry, WR Rodney Davis, OL Warren Jones, QB Bo Wallace (Region 23 MVP).HINDS: OL Justin Barner, DL Dontell Hyman, PK Kyle Williams.NORTHEAST MISSISSIPPI: DB Deion Belue.NORTHWEST MISSISSIPPI: LB David Conner, OL Donald Hawkins, WR Lance Ray.MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST: WR Javon Bell, OL Dylan Holley, DB Alonza Lawrence, P Will Scott, DL Darrington Sentimore.PEARL RIVER: LB Chris Bermond, WR Jonathan Duncan, OL Chandlor Mathews.SOUTHWEST MISSISSIPPI: RB Vintavious Cooper. Here is a complete listing (alphabetically by school) of the All-MACJC North and South Division selections (second teamers denoted):COAHOMA: RB Daveon Porter, LB Keith Reynolds (second), DL Devin Silas (second).COPIAH-LINCOLN: DB Denhendret Collins, DL Terrell Hartsfield, DL Jerry McNair (second), WR Devontae Scott (second), LB Tevin Thomas (second), OL Josh Young.EAST CENTRAL: LB Chris Ficklin, PR Reggie Hall (second), P Rob Moffitt (second), OL Tate Rogers (second).EAST MISSISSIPPI: OL Jarrod Atterberry (second), DL Denico Autry (MVP-Line), WR Lacoltan Bester, DB Jeremy Cannon (second), DB Justin Cox, WR Rodney Davis (second), DL Damien Jacobs, OL Warren Jones, DL Brandon Moore, RB Rodriquez Moore (second), LB Michael Pack (second), PK Taylor Walker, QB Bo Wallace (Region 23 MVP, MVP-Back), OL Derrick Wilson.HINDS: QB Deon Anthony (second), DB Adonis Armstrong (second), OL Justin Barner, DL Andrew Bolton (second), DB Malcolm Butler (second), OL John Gustavis (second), LB Michael Hoskins, DL Dontell Hyman, WR Quadaris Mireles (second), RB Jeremy Palmer, PK Kyle Williams.HOLMES: DB Cedric Tillman (second), OL Shawn Pee (second), OL Jamarcus Robinson (second), OL Addarius Willis (second), WR Jonathan Rumph.ITAWAMBA: P Will Goodwin, RB Keon McGaughy, DL DuVon Millsap (second), WR Wes Saxton (second), LB Martrez Townes.JONES COUNTY: WR Duece Coon, DB Antonio Parker (second team), RB Lavoris Powell (second team), OL McKay Tingle, DL Derrick Upshaw, DL Anthony Wilson (second team).MISSISSIPPI DELTA: DB Lakarious Cathlidge, LB Wayland Dancer (second), DL Alexaner Matthews.MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST: WR Javon Bell, OL Rashad Fortenberry (second), LB Mario Gainer (second), RB James Gillum (second), OL Dylan Holley (MVP-Line), KR-DB Otis Jacobs, DB Alonzo Lawrence (MVP-DB), DL Willie Packer (second), PK Taylor Pontius (second), P Will Scott, DL Darrington Sentimore (MVP-Line).NORTHEAST MISSISSIPPI: DB Deion Belue (MVP-Back, second team kick returner), DL Jeremiah Booth (second), DL Anthony Brown (second), LB Eli Canton, OL Antoinio Foster, WR Tres Houston (second), DB Frankie Lee (second), DB Devin Lindsey (second).NORTHWEST MISSISSIPPI: DB LaDarrick Anderson, P-PK Chase Carpenter (second), LB David Conner, OL Austin Douglas, OL Donald Hawkins (MVP-Line), DL Jerome McClain (second), QB Ryan Mossakowski (second), WR Lance Ray, RB Teshadi Talton (second).PEARL RIVER: LB Chris Bermond, WR Jonathan Duncan, OL Chandlor Mathews, DB Steve McNair, Jr., WR Seth Roberts (second).SOUTHWEST MISSISSIPPI: RB Vintavious Cooper (MVP-Back), LB Tony Johnson (second), OL Jordan Martin (second), DB Fidel Montgomery (second).

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.