South dominates MACJC All-Star Games

DECATUR South All-Stars defeated North squads in the MACJC All-Star Basketball Games held Monday night in the Brackeen-Wood Physical Education Building here on the East Central Community College campus. The South women cruised 92-64 and the South men posted a 98-89 decision. Brandi Simmons of Copiah-Lincoln tallied 14 points and grabbed six rebounds to receive Most Valuable Player honors. Tanecka Carey of Jones County also scored 14 points and had five rebounds. Other scorers included Brittany Patterson of Southwest Mississippi 12, Deonica McCormick of Mississippi Gulf Coast, Kiara Etienne of Copiah-Lincoln, and Kiana Harris of Jones County, 10 each; JaQuandria (G.G.) Williams of Copiah-Lincoln eight, Sedreka Plummer of Copiah-Lincoln six, Kenyatta Epps of Pearl River five, Kierra Addison of Southwest Mississippi two, and LaSahondra Dunson of Hinds one. Shanequa Bufkin of East Central also saw action. Lanita Futrell of Northwest Mississippi led the North with 12 points. Also scoring were Tia Nunnally of Coahoma 10, Jamie Gunter of East Mississippi and Malea Malone of Coahoma, nine each; Mandy Collins of Itawamba seven, Tiffany Williams of Holmes four, Marquisha Pointer of Holmes and Ebony Williams of Itawamba, three each; Autumn Jones of Mississippi Delta, Amber Johnson of Northeast and Anna Dill of Itawamba, two each; and RoTasha Windom of East Mississippi one. The South led 48-22 at halftime. In the men contest, Brandon Givens of Jones County led the South with 19 points and was named Most Valuable Player. He also pulled down eight rebounds. Also scoring for the South were Phillip Crawford of Pearl River 18, Marcus Hooten of Copiah-Lincoln 17, Marion Williams of Mississippi Gulf Coast 13, Derrious Gilmore of Jones County 11, Kenneth Barlow of East Central nine, Keondre Hodges of East Central, Erik Burks of Hinds, and P.J. McCray of Southwest Mississippi, three each; and Raymond Cintron of Mississippi Gulf Coast two. Pedro Maciel of Pearl River and Derek Burks of Hinds also saw action. Curtis Bailey of Holmes led the North men with 14 points. Also scoring were Tony Payne of Coahoma and Akeen Anderson of Northwest, 11 each; Reggie Fondren of Northwest Mississippi 10, Melvin Morgan of Itawamba nine, Deonte Alexander of East Mississippi and Jarvis Moore of Delta, eight each; Tyler Pritchard of Northeast Mississippi and Jestionia Kimber of Mississippi Delta, six each; Wendell Williams of Itawamba four, and Jeffery Stubbs of Holmes two. Jonathan King of East Mississippi also saw action. The South held a 47-32 advantage at the break. Sponsors for the MACJC All-Star Basketball Games Pepsi, Rush Sports Medicine and East Central Community College in Decatur.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.