PTK Iota Mu Induction Spring 2019

Poplarville/Waveland – New members of Pearl River Community College’s Iota Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society, which serves the Poplarville and Waveland campuses, were inducted March 18 on the Poplarville Campus. 

The record-setting ceremony welcomed over 150 new members to the society. This number making it the largest induction Iota Mu has had to date. This is the third year that the chapter has reached recruitment targets and received the corresponding “REACH” award from PTK. Family, friends, and PRCC employees cheered on the students as they each crossed the stage and were officially inducted. 

Current PTK officers J.D. O’Brian III; Chapter President; William Masters, Vice President of Scholarship; Kaley Hammet, Vice President of Leadership; Sydni Crain, Vice President of Service; and Christine Hook; Vice President of Fellowship spoke of the numerous opportunities that were made available to each of them through PTK and the projects they were involved in. Mississippi State University sponsored the induction ceremony and admissions counselor, Judd Williams, spoke with students about transfer opportunities. Inductees also had the chance to speak with several universities from across the state about scholarship options and PTK partnerships. 

Iota Mu advisors Dr. Trevor Hunt, Mrs. Robin Nix, Mr. Jeff McCoy, and Mrs. Lisa Wall facilitated the induction and encouraged students to become active excited members of this society. 

PRCC faculty member Robert Maynard commented after the event about the students taking an active role in inviting staff and faculty. “Receiving an invitation from several students to this event was very exciting,” said Maynard. “I was already planning to come but it was good to see students reaching out to staff members on campus for support and encouragement on a very special night!”

Dr. Adam Breerwood, PRCC President, also congratulated both the students being recognized and their parents in the audience for the hard work getting to this point. “Embrace that stress, accept the fact that you have potential and we are expecting you to far exceed that expectation,” said Breerwood. “We look forward to your future, your success, and always remember that PRCC is your home.” 

The new inductees of the Iota Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa are as follows: 

Kadin Adcox, Zachariah Allen, Elly Anderson, Evan Anthony, Kealan Baggett, Landry Bagley, Ronald Baker, Ryan Barnes, Terry Barnes, Jr., Gracie Barnett, Josiah Bates, Amy Baughman, Kaylee Beachner, Brian Beech, Madison Beets, Crystal Black, Landon Bolton, Jeremiah Borley, Amanda Bozeman, Lexey Breerwood, Tyler Broom, Mark Brumley, Elizabeth Burge, Payton Burge, Lewis Caleb Burke, Angelica Cantrell , Faith Cantrell, Vanessa Carrillo, Nicholas Cary, Aimee Cason, Autumn Clark, Caitlyn Cobbert, Jenna Comeaux, Jonathan Conerly, Camryn Cooper, Brandi Crawford, Angelique Croom, Dalton Cummins, Keyerra Davis, Tatum Davis, Hailey Dobson, Hayden Dodd, Kasey Donaldson, Jordan Dubose, Jarret Dunhurst, Conner Evans, Brooke Fagan, Corrin Fairley, Abigail Farmer, Michael Felber, Ethan, Finley, Emily-Kate Ford, Anna Funderbunk, Emori Gavin, Shelby Gehrmann, Olivia Gex, Destiny Golden, Tyler Golden, Trenton Gordon, Rebecca Goss, Cooper Grafe, Katrina Grahn, Andrew Guillet, Shelby Hall, Devin Hamilton, Cameron Havard, Landon Hawk, Asa Haynes, Rachelle Henderson, Jamya Herring, Elisha Hickman, Kacey Holifield, Andrea Hood, Lauryn Kennedy Hudson, Ariel Jackson, Mike Jimenez, Kelly Johnson, Tiyana Johnson, Kyleigh Jordan, Blake Katz, Bria Keith, Marivic Klein, Brianna Kreeger, Nicolas Ladner, Cameron Leblanc, Mallory Lee , Shantrice Lewis , Gabrielle Lewis, Jalen Lott, Ka’Derryah Luckett, Tra’Shawn Mackey, Shamyah Magee, Melanie Mannion, Yana Masino, Trinity Mason, Mary Matheny, Steven Mayeaux, Ashley McLeod, Logan Meadows, Anya Merrell, Edwin Merwin IV, Harlie Miley, Emily Mille, Harrison Miller, Mia Missimer, Dylan Mitchell, Nickolas Murray, Alyssa Necaise, Brennon Neff, Tawanda Nelson, Justin Newton, Arieanna Norwood, Devon Olafson, Jennifer Owens, William Packwood, Dywana Parker, Brandon Pasquini, Solange Pearson, Emily Peno, Allana Madison Phillips, Riley Phillips, Jacob Pierce, Cynthia Pittman, Amanda Powe, Ja’Mecia Profit, Hannah Rasberry, Patricia Reese, Peggy Rester, Faith Robinson, Candace Rogers, Kristin Rouse, Brianna Safford, Jeri Sanders, Garrett Sauls, Tyler Seals, Logan Shockey, Charles Sidock, Carlizia Simmons, La’Keirah Sims, Caitlin Sixkiller, Molly Smart, Aaron Smith, Alan Smith, Hannah Smith, Kaley Smith, Kirsten Speights, Mallory Spiers, Sametria Stallings, Grady Lane Steele, Hannah Steverson, Gabriel Story, Lindsay Grace Stringer, Reagan Sumrall, Katelyn Taylor, Makinley Taylor, Whitney Tobin, Shawn Trahan, Kyle Tynes, Matthew Tyler, Asher Umbehr, Kyle Van Marcke , Emily Victory, Gabriella Voss, De’Andra Wade, Ian Wallace, Kaitlyn Warden, America Washington, Brooke Watkins, Samantha Webb, Brittney West, Peyton Whitten, Tyler Wilbanks, Caleb Wilson, Heidi Wise, Adam Wright, Lisa Wright, Ahortor Zigi Yayira, and Maria Zuniga.

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities. The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability. For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.


Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.