PRCC students receive STEM scholarships

POPLARVILLE – Eight Pearl River Community College sophomore students have received the PRCC STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) scholarship in the amount of $1,000 each. All eight students major in a STEM related field. The scholarship is funded through NASA and was designated for the community colleges that are a part of the Mississippi Space Grant Consortium. Recipients include from left: Seated – Stanford Gwin of Purvis, Bailey Rester of Lumberton, Dana Jones of Hattiesburg, Belle Failla of Picayune and Jason Gibson of Carriere. Standing – Dr. Jana Causey, vice president for Forrest County Operations; Karen Bond, science, mathematics and business department chair;  Jacob Grinder of Carriere, Turner Ames of Hattiesburg and PRCC President William Lewis. Bond serves as the NASA/MSSGC campus coordinator for PRCC.

STEM Scholarship

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.