PRCC instructor Benny Hornsby receives award

 Benny Hornsby           POPLARVILLE – Pearl River Community College instructor Dr. Benny Hornsby recently received the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award from the League for Innovation in the Community College in Dallas, Texas.
            Hornsby, 71, is chair of the social sciences department at PRCC’s Forrest County Center in Hattiesburg. He also serves as president of the Mississippi Association of Educators, the largest teacher organization in Mississippi.
            “We congratulate Dr. Hornsby on this award,” said PRCC President William Lewis. “He has made significant contributions toward developing an outstanding learning environment for our students at the Forrest County Center. His efforts are greatly appreciated.”
            The Roueche Award was created by the League, of which PRCC is a member, in 2012 to “celebrate outstanding contributions and accomplishments by community college faculty and staff, and to recognize exceptional teaching and leadership abilities.”
            The award honors Dr. John E. Roueche, President of the Roueche Graduate Center at National American University, and formerly Director of the Community College Leadership Program at the University of Texas, where he held the first endowed faculty position in the field of community college education.
            Hornsby served on active duty in the Navy as a Southern Baptist chaplain for 36 years, serving 18 years at sea and visiting more than 100 foreign countries. He retired in 1996 with the rank of Captain. He has taught at eight colleges, universities, and religious seminaries. He was selected as the PRCC Humanities Teacher of the Year for 2008-2009. He has taught full-time at PRCC since 2005.
            Hornsby has also been accepted for admission to the Institut de Francais, a French language immersion school in Villefrance-sur-Mer, France, used by the United Nations and many non-government-organizations (NGOs) where he will spend the entire month of July.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.