PRCC honors retirees, others at annual appreciation dinner

A VPN is an essential component of IT security, whether you’re just starting a business or are already up and running. Most business interactions and transactions happen online and VPN

POPLARVILLE – Pearl River Community College honored eight retirees at the annual Faculty-Staff Appreciation Dinner on May 5 at the home of President William and Janet Gale Lewis on the Poplarville campus.They are Dr. Joyce Applegate, biology instructor; Mary Benson, Forrest County Center librarian; Richard Byrd, automotive mechanics technology instructor; Peggy Dease, director of nursing education; Charles Ferguson, biology instructor; Dr. John Grant, vice president for instruction; Catherine Merrikin, office systems technology instructor at the Forrest County Center; and Don Welsh, director of career and technical education.Together, they have taught or worked at PRCC for almost 200 years.Also at the dinner, which was a western-themed barbeque, 25 employees were recognized for benchmark years of service. They include:Ten years – Karen Bond, math instructor; Melissa Bryant, dual enrollment practical nursing instructor, Forrest County Center; Dr. Bob Escudero, Student Support Services director; Judith Shaw, early childhood development technology instructor; and Ruby Smith, GED instructor, Forrest County Center. They received PRCC pins.Fifteen years – Lourie Barnett, electronics technology instructor; Carlene Hague, nursing education secretary; Karen Carlisle, dental assisting technology instructor, Forrest County Center; Dr. Patti Crowson, physical therapist assistant director, Forrest County Center; Gwendolyn Jordan, early childhood development technology assistant; Scott Kimball, history and geography instructor; Porter Soley, brick, block and masonry instructor; and Dr. Aleta Sullivan, biology instructor. They also received PRCC pins.Twenty years – Rick Baker, transportation manager; James Bryant, custodian, Forrest County Center; Barbara Mathis, English instructor; Richard Mathis, basketball coach and athletic director; Janice Stevens, medical office technology instructor; Carol Williams, business marketing and management technology instructor; and Kaye Holston, financial aid secretary, Forrest County Center. They received PRCC soft-sided brief cases.Thirty years – Buddy Elbers, electrical technology instructor; Lindsay Loustalot, nursing instructor; Dr. Ann Moore, counseling center director. They received PRCC clocks.Thirty-five years – Peggy Dease, nursing education director; and Jeanne Dyar, librarian. They received PRCC briefcases and clocks.