PRCC Faculty Member Appointed to PTK Honors Program Council

Hattiesburg – Pearl River Community College faculty member, Dr. Terri Smith Ruckel, Dean of the William Lewis Honors Institute, has been appointed as the humanities representative to the Honors Program Council by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. 

The Honors Program Council is made up of Phi Theta Kappa faculty, advisors, and consultants. Council members take on the responsibility of planning the Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors Institute summer conference, select study topics for focus by chapters and colleges, as well as serve on the Editorial Board of Civic Scholar: Phi Theta Kappa Journal of Undergraduate Research. 

“I am honored to serve on a national level as Humanities Representative for Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors Council. Phi Theta Kappa helps community college students achieve their educational dreams which is exactly what I get to do each semester at Pearl River Community College. I’m especially excited to serve on the editorial board of Civic Scholar: Phi Theta Kappa Journal of Undergraduate Research,” said Dr. Terri Ruckel. 

Phi Theta Kappa is a premier honor society that recognizes the academic achievements of students and helps them grow as scholars, leaders, and contributing community members. There are more than 3.5 million members in the Society and nearly 1,300 chapters in 10 nations. To learn more about Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society please visit 

Terri Ruckel

Dr. Terri Ruckel, Dean of the William Lewis Honors Institute


PRCC Marketing & Communications photo / Article by: Alexx Kennedy, Communications Specialist 

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities.  The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability.  For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.