PRCC Alumni Awards honorees announced for 2024 

March 8, 2024

Pearl River Community College Development Foundation will be hosting the annual Alumni Awards Banquet on Thursday, May 9. The event provides the opportunity to celebrate alumni and community partnerships that support PRCC. 

The banquet will be held at the Lake Terrace Convention Center in Hattiesburg. A social hour will begin at 6 p.m. with dinner and the program starting at 6:30 p.m. 

“The Alumni Awards Ceremony is a special event each year where we recognize and honor outstanding alumni and partners of Pearl River Community College,” said Executive Director of Development Foundation/Alumni Association Delana Harris. “This year’s honorees are a wonderful group that represent everything we stand for at PRCC.  

“Their dedication shines through as they invest their time, resources, and unwavering support, not only in our College but also in fostering a culture of lifelong learning. The event is also a great night filled with laughter and smiles as former Wildcats reunite and reflect on their time spent at The River.” 

Tickets are $100 and can be purchased by visiting our website at or by calling the PRCC Development Foundation at (601) 403-1193. Tables may also be purchased directly from the Foundation for $750 each and include 8 individual tickets.  

Corporate sponsorship opportunities are also available. Sponsorship levels begin at $500 (Bronze Level), $1,000 (Silver Level) and $2,500 (Gold Level). Please contact the PRCC Development Foundation at (601) 403-1193 or email Mary Chandler at for sponsorships and packages. 

Honorees for 2024 

The individuals and companies being honored are: 

Young Alumnus of the Year: Representative Jansen Owen, for the Mississippi House District 106, JAG Officer and First Lieutenant in the Army National Guard and Attorney and Owner of Owen Law Firm in Poplarville, MS 
Alumnus of the Year: Mrs. Karen Ladner Moore, Chief Executive Officer for Baldwin County Electric Membership Corporation in Summerdale, AL 
Distinguished Service Award: Mr. Alton Pierce, Chief Executive Officer of Toyota of Hattiesburg 
Outstanding Partnership: AccelerateMS, Workforce Training and Educational Partner 
Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Gale Harris, Veterinarian and Owner of East Poplarville Veterinary Hospital 

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.