New Members Welcomed into the Iota Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa

A VPN is an essential component of IT security, whether you’re just starting a business or are already up and running. Most business interactions and transactions happen online and VPN

The Iota Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa welcomed 26 students at a ceremony held at Pearl River Community College. The induction ceremony was held at the Brownstone Center for the Arts with family members and other guests in the audience. 

PRCC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Iota Mu Chapter

Phi Theta Kappa is known as the foremost honor society for two-year colleges with over 1,300 chapters worldwide. This evening was the Iota Mu Chapter’s 65th induction ceremony. The chapter covers both the Hancock and Poplarville campuses.  

Students selected for membership are considered academically successful having completed at least 12 credit hours of non-remedial courses with a minimum cumulative 3.4 GPA.   

Scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship are the four hallmarks of PTK. The current officers briefly shared how those hallmarks have played out for them as members of PTK. 

Attendees heard from Dr. Randall Langston, Senior Associate Vice President of Enrollment Management at The University of Southern Mississippi. He shared about the importance of leadership, a skill that PTK can help students learn. 

“Your affiliation with PTK does not end at this recognition, rather it is the beginning of a transformation that gets you out of your comfort zone and seeing another dimension of yourself,” said Langston. “Three components of leadership that I believe to be critical for future success are communication, empowering others, and a shared governance.” 

PRCC Vice President of Hancock Campus Dr. Raymunda Barnes gave a motivational speech about a song titled “I Can.” He shared how the key phrase, “I Can,” is coupled with a variety of situations that can be overcome. Barnes encouraged inductees to “look down deep in your spirit and sing that song that you learned at Pearl River Community College the night that you were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa.” 

After the ceremony, inductees were able to meet with representatives from The University of Southern Mississippi for the Hattiesburg and Gulf Park campuses. 

PRCC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Iota Mu Chapter for fall 2022 semester are: 

Emioluwa Akinyokunbo, Columbia 
Tyler Bradley, Hattiesburg 
Maya Calloway, Picayune 
Jaidyn Durning, Poplarville 
Robyn Fisk, Carriere 
Aiden Fleming, Carriere 
Jaran Goar, Sumrall 
Christopher Guillet, Covington, LA 
Rosie Hubbard, Hattiesburg 
Madison Hunt, Covington, LA 
Kianna Johnson, Wiggins 
Brett Samuel Jones, Purvis 
Dillon Kammerdeiner, Sumrall 
Kaylee Kennedy, Picayune 
Payton Kirby, Carriere 
Aly Klingenberger, Carriere 
Donovan Minor, Poplarville 
Amiya Oatis, Columbia 
Madison Putnam, Purvis 
Ashley Royston, Perkinston 
Shamyah Sims, Columbia 
Faith Slade, Perkinston 
Laken Marie Smith, Poplarville 
Eliza Smith, Picayune 
Riley Stephens, Hattiesburg 
Jaedyn Welch, Poplarville 

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), and Facebook (@PRCCMKTG). 

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.