Kinabrew named to top state academic team

State education and government officials honored four Pearl River Community College students Wednesday, March 2, at the annual All-Mississippi Academic Team luncheon in Jackson.Lee Kinabrew of Hattiesburg, a student at PRCC Forrest County Center, was named to the first team and received a $1,000 stipend.Named to the second team were Taylor Craven of Oak Grove and Caleb Lott of Poplarville, both students at the Poplarville campus; and Jaimi Thomas of Oak Grove, a Forrest County Center student;We are extremely proud of these students and their academic accomplishments, said PRCC President William Lewis.Started in 1994, the All-Mississippi Academic Team is a joint project of the Mississippi Association for Community and Junior Colleges, the State Board for Junior and Community Colleges and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.Kinabrew is an English and history major and carries a 3.92 grade point average. He is a charter member and vice president of Sigma Kappa Delta English honor society, a member of the History and Humanities Club and the Beta Tau Gamma PTK chapter. He plans to pursue a career in the tourism/hospitality management industry.Craven has a 3.50 grade point average and is a member of the Iota Mu PTK chapter on the Poplarville campus. She is an occupational therapy major.Lott, a pre-medicine major, carries a 3.87 grade point average. He is president of the Iota Mu PTK chapter.Thomas is pursing an associate in arts degree and has a 4.0 grade point average. She is president of the Beta Tau Gamma PTK chapter.The students toured the Mississippi Capitol and were presented to the Legislature before the luncheon. Each received a special medallion, certificate and printed resolutions from the House of Representatives and the Senate.Corporate sponsors of the All-Mississippi Academic Team are The Clarion-Ledger, General Dynamics Armament and Technical Products, Hederman Brothers Printing, Johnson Controls, Atmos Energy Corp., Bancorp South, BankPlus, Entergy, National Awards Inc., Sodexo Campus Services, Trustmark National Bank, Valley Food Service and Renasant Bank.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.