National Technical Honors Society holds induction ceremony at FCC

April 4, 2024

Pearl River Community College’s Forrest County Campus recently honored 10 students with a National Technical Honors Society induction ceremony. 

Inductees for the National Technical Honor Society at Pearl River Community College’s Forrest County Campus for 2023-24 included from left: Charnessa Johnson of Wiggins, Latoria Jones of Heidelberg, Mark Holland of Richton, Madison Nolen of Columbia, Shauntavia Polk of Lucedale, Melissa Alvarado of Hattiesburg, Talitha McKennis of Brooklyn, Kayla Hooker of Vancleave, Jada Lewis of McComb and Derek Rich of Wayne County.

The National Technical Honor Society currently serves more than 100,000 active members and nearly 2 million alumni since its inception in 1984. 

“NTHS membership recognizes students for their academic excellence in a Career Technical program,” said Sam McNease, PRCC Industrial Technology instructor and NTHS advisor.

“It’s important to encourage and reward any student that puts such hard work and effort towards investment in their future career. CTE is so different from many other college pathways, so it’s great to have an organization dedicated to CTE, specifically.”

The NTHS President is Shane Breland and the Vice President is Jacob Nasrat.

“For these students, to be a member of NTHS is to be recognized and honored for their hard work and achievements as they prepare for a technical career,” said McNease.

Awarding more than $2 million in scholarships since 2005, NTHS honors the achievements of top CTE students, provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive, skilled workforce.

For more than 30 years, NTHS has been the acknowledged leader in the recognition of outstanding student achievement in career and technical education.

During the induction, elements of the organization were explained including the seven candles that represent the seven attributes of membership: skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership. 

Advisors for the National Technical Honor Society at Pearl River Community College’s Forrest County Campus for 2021-22 included from left: Dr. James Collum, Shannon Busby, Amy Smith, Sam McNease, Cassie Jackson, Lori Little and Dusty Chambliss.

Any questions about NTHS can be directed to Sam McNease

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), Facebook (@PRCCMKTG), and TikTok (@prcc_wildcats).

Article by Chuck Abadie.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.