PEARL RIVER COMMUNITY COLLEGE

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING MINUTES

May 14, 2013

The Board of Trustees of Pearl River Community College met Tuesday, May 14, 2013, at 1:00 p.m. for their monthly meeting in the Board of Trustees Room in the Olivia Bender Cafeteria on the Poplarville Campus.

TRUSTEES IN ATTENDANCE/ABSENT:

Mr. Frank Ladner, Chairman Mr. Herbert Ray Nobles, Vice Chairman	Mr. Dale Purvis - Absent Mr. Craig Robbins
Mr. M.L. "Sonny" Knight, Secretary	Mr. Albert Brooks
Mr. Brian Freeman	Mr. Alan Lumpkin - Absent
Mr. Alan Dedeaux	Mr. Purvis W. "P.W." Polk, Jr.
Mr. Ike Haynes	Dr. Gale Harris
Mr. Anthony Charles "Tony" Waits	Mr. Don Welsh
Dr. Ben Burnett	Ms. Teresa Lynn Stafford

PRCC STAFF: President Dr. William Lewis, Vice President for Business and Administrative Services Mr. Roger Knight, Vice President for Poplarville Campus and Hancock Center Dr. Adam Breerwood, Director of Public Relations Mr. Chuck Abadie, Director of Development Foundation/Alumni Association Mr. Ernie Lovell, Vice President for Forrest County Operations Dr. Cecil Burt, Vice President for Economic and Community Development Dr. Scott Alsobrooks, Board Attorney Mr. Martin Smith, and President's Administrative Assistant Ms. Marilyn Dillard

GUESTS: None

Chairman Frank Ladner opened the meeting by welcoming all attendees to today's meeting. He requested everyone to stand for the Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance. Ernie Lovell provided the Invocation. After the Pledge of Allegiance, the following business was transacted.

Chairman Ladner requested approval of the **April 9, 2013, board meeting minutes**. A motion was made by Craig Robbins, seconded by Herbert Ray Nobles, to approve the April 9, 2013, board meeting minutes. The motion was unanimous.

Departmental reports were then presented by staff administrators. Those presenting reports included Dr. Burt, Dr. Breerwood, Dr. Alsobrooks, and Mr. Lovell. No report was provided from the Buildings and Grounds Committee.

In the financial reports, Roger Knight presented and reviewed the **Reconciled Bank Balances** for April 30, 2013, and the **Statement of Expenditures for April 30, 2013**. No action was necessary.

Mr. Knight then presented for review and approval the **April 2013 Disbursement Register** (Claim Docket) in the amount of \$2,046,854.15. A motion was made by Ike Haynes, seconded by Tony Waits, to approve the April 2013 Disbursement Register (Claim Docket) as presented herein. The motion was unanimous. The original Disbursement Register is on file in the Business Office.

Mr. Knight then presented the **Fixed Asset Deletions Reports for May 2013** in the amounts of \$23,902.47 and \$22,260.00. Said reports contain various unserviceable electronic and computer items that will be salvaged. A motion was made by H. R. Nobles, seconded by Alan Dedeaux, to approve said Fixed Asset Deletions Reports. The motion was unanimous. The original Fixed Asset Deletions Reports are on file in the Business Office.

The **PRCC FY 2014 Student Fee Sheet** was presented for approval by Mr. Knight. After review of said fee sheet, a motion was made by Sonny Knight, seconded by Al Brooks, to approve the FY 2014 Student Fee Sheet. The motion was unanimous. A copy of the FY 2014 Student Fee Sheet is attached hereto as Exhibit "A" and made a part of these official minutes.

The following personnel matters were then presented for approval:

- Dr. Breerwood presented the retirement of Ms. Lindsey Loustalot from the position of <u>Instructor of Association Degree Nursing/Nursing and Wellness Coordinator</u> effective May 15, 2013.
- Dr. Burt presented the retirement of Dr. Gerald Hampton from the position of <u>Instructor of Chemistry</u> effective May 15, 2013; and the retirement of Ms. Tina Jerome from the position of <u>Instructor of Criminal Justice (2/5)(Poplarville)/(3/5)(Hattiesburg)</u> effective May 15, 2013.
- Dr. Alsobrooks presented the **retirement** of **Mr. Ken Adams** from the position of <u>Instructor of Machine Shop Technology</u> effective May 15, 2013.

A motion was made by H. R. Nobles, seconded by Sonny Knight, to approve the above define retirements as stated herein. The motion was unanimous.

- Dr. Alsobrooks presented the **non-renewal of employment** for **Ms. Lori Allemand** from the position of <u>WIN Job Center Computer Instructor</u> effective June 30, 2013. This non-renewal is the due to budget reductions of the South Mississippi Planning and Development District. This grant-funded position is being deleted due to the budget reductions.

A motion was made by Tony Waits, seconded by Dr. Ben Burnett, to approve the non-renewal of Ms. Allemand and the deletion of said position as defined herein. The motion was unanimous.

- Dr. Breerwood presented the **employment** of **Mr. Wesley Pfeiffer** for the position of <u>Recruiter</u> effective May 20, 2013.

A motion was made by P. W. Polk, seconded by Alan Dedeaux, to approve the employment of Mr. Pfeiffer as stated and defined herein. The motion carried. Don Welsh voted no on the motion.

- Dr. Burt presented the **recommendation/transfer** of **Ms. Jana Causey** for the position of <u>Assistant Vice President for Forrest County Operations</u> effective July 1, 2013.

A motion was made by Sonny Knight, seconded by H. R. Nobles, to approve the transfer of Ms. Causey for the Assistant Vice President for Forrest County Operations effective July 1, 2013. The motion was unanimous.

At the request of Dr. Lewis to **consider entering** Executive Session to discuss employee nonrenewals, a motion was made by Sonny Knight, seconded by H. R. Nobles, to approve the request to **consider entering** Executive Session. The motion was unanimous. A motion was then made by Craig Robbins, seconded by H. R. Nobles, to **remain** in Executive Session. The motion was unanimous.

A motion was then made by H. R. Nobles, seconded by Alan Dedeaux, to **exit** Executive Session. The motion was unanimous.

The meeting then returned to Open Session. No action was taken in Executive Session.

In Legal Matters, Mr. Smith stated there are no legal reports to bring before the board at today's meeting.

In the President's Report, Dr. Lewis reminded board members that the College's Graduation Ceremony will be held May 15 at the Lynn Cartlidge Multipurpose Center in Hattiesburg, and the speaker will be the Honorable Mark Formby, member of the Mississippi House of Representatives. The following board members indicated their plans to attend the ceremony: Frank Ladner, Dr. Ben Burnett, H. R. Nobles, Brian Freeman, Tony Waits, and P. W. Polk.

Dr. Lewis reminded board members that the next meeting of the board will be held Thursday, June 6, 2013.

In closing, Chuck Abadie reported on the College's newspaper, *The Drawl*, recently received two first-place awards for 2013 from the American Scholastic Press Association. The awards are for Special Merit and Best Coverage of School News. He also informed the board that the May 14 Graduation Ceremony will be streaming live on the Internet from the Lynn Cartlidge Multipurpose Center.

There being no further business to come before the Board of Trustees, a motion was made by Craig Robbins, seconded by Sonny Knight, to adjourn. The motion was unanimous.

The next meeting of the PRCC Board of Trustees will be held **Thursday**, **June 6**, **2013** at 1:00 p.m. in the Board of Trustees Room in the Olivia Bender Cafeteria on the Poplarville Campus.

Frank Ladner, Board Chairman

M. L. "Sonny" Knight, Board Secretary

The following items are attached hereto as Exhibit Items and made a part of these official minutes of the meeting of the Pearl River Community College Board of Trustees on May 14, 2013.

Exhibit A

PRCC FY 2014 Student Fee Sheet

The official signed minutes and exhibit item(s) (if applicable) are on file in the PRCC President's Office and are available for viewing upon request.