Unwavering student support earns Pearl River president PTK recognition

POPLARVILLE, Miss. — Pearl River Community College President Dr. Adam Breerwood has been nominated by his students for the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Paragon Award for New Presidents because of his dedication to student support.

More than 500 college presidents were eligible to receive the award and 28 will be recognized during PTK Catalyst 2020, the Society’s annual convention, April 2-4 in Dallas, Texas.

These awards are given to new college presidents who have shown strong support of student success by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students at their college. Recipients were nominated for the award by the students on their campuses.

Breerwood started at the college as a student and earned the presidential position on July 1, 2017, 21 years after he began working at the college.

He has worked in many avenues of the college along the way including athletics, recruitment and student services.

“I am honored to receive recognition from a premier student-based organization like Phi Theta Kappa,” Breerwood said. “Our entire faculty and staff work daily to promote student success. I am humbled that these elite students not only recognize but appreciate this commitment.”

According to the organization’s mission statement, the purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

To be invited to join this prestigious group, a student must complete 12 hours of college credit from their institution and secure at least a 3.4 GPA.

“We appreciate Dr. Breerwood’s continued support of our students,” FYS Coordinator and PTK Advisor Lisa Wall said. “Having administrative support makes all the difference in our organization and gives our students the resources they need to make an impact both on their campus and in their community.” 

Pearl River has two chapters of Phi Theta Kappa including Iota Mu located on the Poplarville campus and Beta Tau Gamma located at the Forrest County Center. Both organizations are active at their respective locations organizing events such as blood drives, plasma donor screenings, interview attire fashion shows and more.

PTK students have a 91 percent student success rate, and research has shown that strong presidential leadership and support of PTK increases member success and the depth of their college experience.

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit PRCC.edu and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats) and Facebook (@PRCCMKTG).

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities. The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability. For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.