Two PRCC students secure Coca-Cola scholarships

Two Pearl River Community College students recently received Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarships.

Lane Anderson and Shawn Lowe, both sophomores from Purvis, will receive $1,000 to help defray the cost of college attendance for their sophomore years at PRCC.

Both students are members of Phi Theta Kappa and the Dr. William Lewis Honors Institute. Anderson, 19, is vice president of fellowship in Phi Theta Kappa. Lowe, 19, serves as vice president of service.

Dr. Jana Causey (center), Vice President for Pearl River Community College’s Forrest County Center, presents Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarships last week to PRCC students Shawn Lowe (left) and Lane Anderson (right). 

“Last spring, nearly 900 applications were received nationwide for these prestigious scholarships,” said Dr. Terri Ruckel, Associate Regional Coordinator for the MS/LA Region of Phi Theta Kappa.

“Lane and Shawn were among the 200 chosen to receive this honor. These scholarships are based on their outstanding academic achievements and leadership potential. Their success underscores Pearl River’s continued recognition as a premier college on a national level.” 

A pharmacy major, Anderson plans to continue his education at either the University of Mississippi or William Carey University.

“What excites me the most about being a student at PRCC is that I am able to get an outstanding education so close to home,” said Anderson.

Pearl River Community College staff on hand for the presentation of Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarships last week to PRCC honors students Shawn Lowe (left) and Lane Anderson (right) were from right: James Collum and Dr. Doug Donohue, advisors for the Phi Theta Kappa’s Beta Tau Gamma chapter; Lowe, Anderson, Dr. Terri Ruckel, Associate Regional Coordinator for the MS/LA Region of Phi Theta Kappa; Dr. Jana Causey, Vice President for PRCC’s Forrest County Center; and Dr. Ryan Ruckel, Regional Coordinator for the MS/LA Region of Phi Theta Kappa.

Lowe is majoring in biochemistry. He is a member of Sigma Kappa Delta and Mu Alpha Theta, and serves as president of the Honors Institute. He is planning to enroll at Mississippi State University in fall 2020 and then go on to medical school.

“The thing that excites me about Pearl River is that I learn something new every day while being around some wonderful people,” Lowe said.

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats) and Facebook (@PRCCMKTG.

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities.  The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability.  For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.