Top students honored at Awards Day

A VPN is an essential component of IT security, whether you’re just starting a business or are already up and running. Most business interactions and transactions happen online and VPN

  POPLARVILLE – Pearl River Community College recognized outstanding students Wednesday, April 23, during the annual Awards Day ceremony at Brownstone Center for the Arts.
  Dr. William Lewis, PRCC president, recognized Tiffany Tucker of Diamondhead and Jansen Owen of Carriere for their selection to the Phi Theta Kappa 2014 All-Mississippi Academic Team. Tucker also was named a Bronze Coca-Cola Scholarship winner and received the English and Spanish Outstanding Student awards.
  Lewis also presented the Mississippi State University Presidential Partnership Scholarships to Stephen Perry of Hattiesburg and Hollie Chester of Lumberton and the Presidential Scholarship Award for the University of Southern Mississippi to Chelsea Gascho of Picayune.
  Jonathan Kelly of Poplarville was recognized as PRCC’s HEADWAE student and as the Outstanding Student in computer networking systems.
  The Citizenship Awards for academic transfer students went to Christopher Barron of Carriere and Chester. The Citizenship Award for career-technical students went to Brooke Fulcher of Lumberton, who also received the Skills USA award.
  Sherry Hill of Bay St. Louis received the Hancock Center Citizenship Award. The Hancock Center Leadership Award went to Tim Brister of Bay St. Louis.
  Subject area Outstanding Student Awards are as follows:
Marketing management technology – Elizabeth Ladner of Necaise.
Marketing management technology, on-line – Kami Tomei of Picayune.
Business office systems – Stephanie Strickland of Picayune.
Criminal justice technology – Justin James of Lumberton.
Health care data technology – Jackie Hinton of Poplarville.
Construction equipment technology – Todd Dupre of Mendenhall.
Utility lineman technology – Bradley Rayborn of Purvis.
Barbering – Joseph Holloway of Picayune and Wayne Cavalier of Covington, La.
Cosmetology – Jessica “PJ” Thompson of Picayune.
Ceramics – Gus Bowering of Hattiesburg.
Design – Macie Keenan of Poplarville.
Music – Allen Holifield of Laurel.
Public speaking – Angela Larke Bickham of Poplarville.
Special studios – Hanna Williams of Picayune.
Scholar athletes -Dyllon Beasley of Wiggins and Karly Mitchell of Poplarville, both soccer players.
Wellness Center Wildcats – Justin James of Lumberton and Mariah Houpy of Perkinston.
Creative writing – Christian Fuller of Carriere. Fuller also received the history award.
Criminal justice – D’Shanal Fowler of Picayune.
Political science – Shaynna King of Poplarville.
Psychology – Lauren Gentry of Florence.
Sociology – Lorin Duncan of Poplaville.
Drafting and design technology – Russell Cowart of Poplarville. He also received the Department of Industrial Technology Leadership Award.
Electronics technology – Jackie Anderson of Carriere.
Instrumentation technology – Tye Whitfield of Columbia.
Nursing I – Jenna Gambino of Kiln.
Nursing II – Ashley Craft of Picayune.
Nursing III – Judith Wells of Picayune.
Nursing IV – Laura Ashley Breeland of Carriere.
Nursing Leadership – Heather Black of Carriere.
Mississippi Nursing Foundation – Clayton Coy of Hattiesburg.
Practical nursing – Billie Alexander of Carriere.
Automotive mechanics technology – Jeremy Smith of Neely.
Brick, block and stonemasonry – Travis Moore of Lumberton.
Construction management technology – Randy McDonald of Carriere.
Electrical technology – Usef  Lowe of Hattiesburg.
Precision manufacturing and machining technology – Chandler Baughtman of Tylertown.
Welding and cutting technology – Joseph Cuevas of Kiln.
Welding, Hancock Center – Edward Erskine.
Accounting – Virginia Mitchell of Purvis.
Biology – Israel Castillo of Prentiss.
Business – Melissa Cook of Picayune.
Chemistry – Shassidy Lane Ramshur of Columbia. She also received the phsyics award.
Computer science – David Failla of Picayune.
Who’s Who in American Community Colleges 2013-14 – Mallory Cumberland, Victoria Farmer, Victoria Salinger and Taylor Smith, all of Picayune; Rachel Fowler, Virginia Mitchell, and Adam Nicolosi, all of Purvis; Jonathan Kelly, Dominica Melton and Raven Nightengale, all of Poplarville; Rachel Pierce, Shassidy Ramshur and Adam Weatherford, all of Columbia; Branden Edenfield, Reese Gill and Tiffany Tucker, all of Diamondhead; Ashley Chasez and Kadijah Johnson, both of Waveland; Desmond Edmonson and Brandi Logan, both of Hattiesburg; Matthew Powe and Miranda Rutherford, both of Bay St. Louis; Kimberly Arnold of d’Iberville, Heather Black of Carriere, Hollie Chester of Lumberton, Allen Holifield of Laurel, Ethan Martin of Pisgah, Eusebio Medina of Oak Grove, Destiney Morgan of Saucier, Megan Scronce of Petal and Sarah Silver of Perkinston .

Pearl River Community College students named to Who’s Who in American Community Colleges 2013-14 are, seated from left, Megan Scronce of Petal, Victoria Salinger of Picayune, Dominica Melton of Poplarville, Shassidy Ramshur of Columbia, Virginia Mitchell of Purvis, Hollie Chester of Lumberton, Kimberly Arnold of d’Iberville, Desmond Edmonson of Quitman; standing, Allen Holifield of Lauren, Branden Edenfield of Diamondhead, Eusebio Medina of Oak Grove, Miranda Rutherford of Bay St. Louis, Reese Gill of Diamondhead, Ethan Martin of Pisgah, Victoria Farmer of Picayune, Ashley Chasez of Waveland and Jonathan Kelly of Poplarville. Not pictured are Heather Black of Carriere, Rachel Fowler and Adam Nicolsi, both of Purvis; Kadijah Johnson of Waveland, Brandi Logan of Hattiesburg, Destiney Morgan of Saucier, Raven Nightengale of Poplarville, Rachel Pierce and Adma Weatherford, both of Columbia;, Matthew Powe of Bay St. Louis, Sarah Silver of Perkinston, Taylor Smith of Picayune and Tiffany Tucker of Diamondhead.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Archie Rawls, center, chairman of the Pearl River Community College Department of Fine Arts and Communication presented Outstanding Student Awards to, from left, Gus Bowering of Hattiesburg in ceramics, Allen Holifield of Laurel in music, Macie Keenan of Poplarville in design, Angela Larke Bickham of Poplarville in public speaking and Hanna Williams of Picayune in special studios.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Hollie Chester of Lumberton, left, and Christopher Barron of Carriere received the Citizenship Awards for academic transfer students at Pearl River Community College from counselor Wendy Aube` during Awards Day on April 23.
PRCC Public Relations photo