Tim Hatten resigns as PRCC head football coach

POPLARVILLE – Pearl River Community College head football coach Tim Hatten has resigned his position after 11 years at the school.

His resignation is effective June 30, 2013.

The Wildcats had an 80-30 record under Hatten, a Sumrall native who began his tenure at PRCC in 2002. His teams won four MACJC state championships in 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006, along with an NJCAA national championship in 2004.

His last two teams at PRCC had a combined 7-11 record, including 3-6 in 2012. The last time the Wildcats made the MACJC state playoffs was 2008.

“Coach Tim Hatten has brought great honor to Pearl River Community College during his tenure as head coach,” said PRCC President William Lewis.

“The stretch from 2003-2006 when his teams won four consecutive state championships, a national championship and were national runner-up one season is rather remarkable in the competitive world of community college football. Coach Hatten is a fine man and has enjoyed great success as a football coach. We wish him every success in the future.”

Lewis said a search for a new head coach would begin immediately.

“We hope to be able to recommend someone at our Dec. 13 board of trustees meeting,” he said.

Hatten, 49, was a two-year letter winner for the Wildcats in 1983-84 before transferring to the University of Southern Mississippi. He spent nine seasons as head football coach at Haines City (Fla.) High, where he posted a 75-29 record.

Hatten led PRCC to a MACJC state championship in 2003, its first since 1976. In 2004, the Wildcats won the MACJC national championship by defeating Butler (Kan.) Community College in the Dalton Defenders Bowl in Coffeyville, Kan. PRCC had a perfect 12-0 record.

The Wildcats won the 2005 MACJC state championship, even though the first two games of the season were cancelled due to Hurricane Katrina.

In 2006, PRCC defeated Co-Lin for its 19th MACJC state championship, the most by any two-year school in Mississippi. The Wildcats went on to play No. 1 Blinn (Tex.) College in the Pilgrim’s Pride Bowl in Mt. Pleasant, Tex., losing 19-6 and finishing No. 4 in the final poll.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.