Surgical Tech shows off program, establishes scholarship

Open house Tuesday (Sept. 19) at the Allied Health Center on Pearl River Community College”s Forrest County Center had a dual purpose. First, the college showcased for the public its Surgical Technology program _ a highlight of Surgical Technologist Week _ one of the more successful Allied Health programs at PRCC, with a job placement rate of 95 percent. Second, details about the Debbie Hinton Memorial Scholarship were announced. Hinton, who died June 8 of this year at 56, had chaired the surgical technology program at PRCC”s Forrest County Center since it began in 1992. “Debbie was a valued colleague and instructor who was dedicated to her students,” said Dr. Cecil Burt, dean of the Forrest County Center. “She is sorely missed.” Hinton taught and influenced more than 300 surgical technology students. “She was very patient and knowledgeable,” said student Chase Richard, a sophomore from Petal. “She knew how to explain things in a way that was very clear.” Tammy Alloff, current chair of the department, told the crowd that setting up this scholarship in Hinton”s name is a special way to continue her legacy. “She was instrumental in promoting the profession and leading by example,” said Allhoff, who has been an instructor at PRCC since 1993. In 2001, Hinton co-authored the “Surgical Mayo Setups” textbook that is used by surgical technologists and hospitals nationwide, with the second edition due to be released in January 2012. Surgical Tech students spent the better part of the week showcasing their program. They setup displays at local hospitals and visited area high schools, demonstrating surgical scrubs and instrumentation setups to allied health students. Assisting Allhoff in the surgical tech program is instructor Amber Struppa.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.