Smith named vice president at PRCC

POPLARVILLE – Dr. Martha Lou Smith has been named vice president for general education and technology services at Pearl River Community College.Smith appointment, effective July1, was unanimously approved Tuesday by the PRCC Board of Trustees.Dr. Martha Smith, for many years, has demonstrated outstanding instructional leadership skills, said Dr. William Lewis, PRCC president. As current director of PRCC Extended Learning and Instructional Design Program, Dr. Smith has transitioned this program into one of the most vibrant programs offered by the college.Her leadership in developing the college on-line course offerings has been exemplary. I am certain that she will display the same level of progressive and positive leadership in her new position.PRCC students enrolled in more than 1,200 on-line courses during the spring 2011 semester, an increase of about 200 compared to the previous spring semester.Technology is going to play a huge role in Pearl River future, from instructional technology to informational technology, Smith said.A Lumberton native, Smith attended PRCC and holds the bachelor, master and doctoral degrees from the University of Southern Mississippi. She taught elementary school in Lumberton and ninth-grade technology courses in Poplarville before joining the PRCC faculty 11 years ago.Smith taught reading at PRCC before moving into the institutional research department. She has been director of the extended learning operation since 2007.I enjoy working with instructors as well as students, she said. I am excited about being a part of Pearl River future.Smith and her husband, Sam, live in Wiggins. She succeeds Dr. John Grant, who will retire as vice president for instruction on June 30 after 32 years at PRCC.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.