PRCC’s Beta Tau Gamma Chapter Hits Record High Membership Acceptance

Hattiesburg – New members of Pearl River Community College’s Beta Tau Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society were inducted April 1, 2019, in the newly renovated multi-purpose room at the Forrest County Center. 

The record-setting ceremony welcomed more than 60 of the 101 total new members to the society so far this semester. This number making it the largest induction Beta Tau Gamma has had to date. Family, friends, and PRCC employees cheered on the students as they each crossed the floor and were officially inducted. 

Current PTK officers Raven Sterling; Chapter President; Sarah-Ashlynn Barber, Officer; Brandon Woods, Officer; and Joshua Worbington, Officer spoke of the numerous opportunities that are made available to those who take an active role in the organization. 

“Being a Phi Theta Kappan has changed my life forever. I am overwhelmingly thankful to be a part of this,” said Sarah-Ashlyn Barber, Beta Tau Gamma Officer. 

Dr. Janna Causey, Vice President for Forrest County Operations, congratulated both the students being recognized and their parents in the audience for the hard work put into supporting their students to this point.  

Mississippi State University sponsored the ceremony and spoke with students one on one about transfer options. 

PRCC PTK students will travel this week to Catalyst, the national PTK conference, and look forward to seizing many leadership opportunities while there. 

The new inductees of the Beta Tau Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa are as follows: 

Ashton Anderson, Savannah Barnes, Jeffrey Belshee, Andrea Blalock, Shelby Bracey, Cambri Brewer, Casey Buisson, Morgan Burney, Jonmarie Cintron Figueroa, Braxton Clark, Amber Cobb, Maegan Collier, Lakirah Council, Stephanie Crowe, Caren Dallas, Kayla Devall, Danielle Ford, Yavaniy Garraway, Michael Ginn, Anna Glass, Nilliana Godinez, Jourdan Graves, Marq Graves, Anna Green, Blake Gwin, Kiara Hall, Ethan Hartley, Sélah Henderson, Ashley Herndon, Josie Hilson, Mary Holder, Sean Holland, Rachael Holley, Teagan Holmes, Shelbi Humphrey, Adrianna Hunter, Adrian Hutson, Hannah Hutson, Stuart Jameson, Mary Jay, Gregory Johnson, Kaleigh Jordan, Victoria Keith, Bayleigh Kennedy, Tera King, Brittany Lott, Shawn Lowe, Kriscia MartinezMary Matheny, Precious McCorkle-Harper, Cindy McDonald, Evan McDonnell, Amberlon McLendon, Karrie Mcphail, Nicholas McRaney, Nicole McRaney, Chandler Merrill, Isabella Miles, Dayna Miller, Feizal Mjidho, Chemar Moore, Lorina Moore, Maggie Munn, Tanya Murphy, Sydney Murry, Kelly Napier, Megan Norton, Clarissa Ornelas, Hunter Pierce, Clarissa Pilgram, Rachael Pitts, Tomeka Posey, Barbara Rainey, Marcus Ramey, Tatiyana Randolph, Marquita Rhymes, Kaitlyn Russell, Jeri Sanders, Zachary Shamp, Shelby Simmons, Alexis Smith, Terri Smith, Seth Sparks, Jena Terry, Brandon Thomas, Kennedy Thompson, Tressa Tran, Brianna Travis, Danin Traylor, Destiny Vanderslice, Destinee Williams, Lagraciea Williams, Zaccheus Wilson, Autumn Yates

Photo by: Aleea Burge, PRCC Marketing Specialist/ Article by: Alexx Kennedy, PRCC Communications Specialist 

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities.  The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability.  For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.