PRCC wins international PTK awards

    The Beta Tau Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Pearl River Community College has been named one of the international honor society’s most outstanding chapters.
  Beta Tau Gamma, the Forrest County Center chapter, received one of 20 Distinguished Chapter Awards during NerdNation, PTK’s international convention, held April 7-9 in National Harbor, Md.
  “To be considered for this award, our chapter submitted entries for both the Honors in Action Project and College Project,” said Dr. Terri Ruckel, one of the Beta Tau Gamma advisors.. “Selection is based solely on the written entries for these two projects. The scores are averaged to determine the chapter’s overall ranking. From the 1,285 Phi Theta Chapters around the world, Beta Tau Gamma’s ranking is in the top twenty.”
  Dr. Adam Breerwood, PRCC vice president for the Poplarville campus and Hancock Center, received one a Distinguished College Administrator Award. The awards are given to community college vice presidents, deans or leaders other than college presidents.

“I was honored to be recognized by a premier student organization like PTK,” Breerwood said. “I am proud to be associated with these outstanding students and advisors who have represented our institution to the highest of standards. I am in awe of the contributions they have made to our college and the surrounding communities.
“To receive recognition for my small contributions to the success of PTK was a humbling experience. I look forward to the continued success of these students for many years to come.”
  Breerwood was nominated by the Beta Tau Gamma chapter and the Iota Mu chapter in Poplarville.
  “Dr. Breerwood has supported Phi Theta Kappa with his confidence, and he calls the society his ‘go-to group’ because he believes that when he entrusts them with a responsibility, he ‘knows that it will be done right.’,” said Stephanie Lee, Iota Mu advisor. “Because of that confidence, he supports the society with a commodity more precious than money: his time.”
  Lorrie Warren of Poplarville, Iota Mu vice president for leadership, spoke to a meeting of the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy about the chapter’s unplanned pregnancy awareness project. 
  “I was a bit nervous at first, but the crowd was very responsive, so that calmed my nerves pretty quickly,” she said. “Everyone seemed very impressed by the efforts  Iota Mu made to spread awareness about the prevention of unplanned pregnancy. I was very fortunate to take part in the campaign and even more fortunate to present a summary of our project.”
  Beta Tau Gamma was recognized in the top three for the Honors in Action Theme Award (Theme 8: Exploring Political Economy) and in the top 20 for the Honors in Action Project Award.
  Ruckel and Dr. Ryan Ruckel, her husband and co-advisor for Beta Tau Gamma, presented “Motivating and Engaging Students: The Struggle is Real” at an educational forum and led the Mississippi/Louisiana Regional Meeting. Ryan Ruckel is the regional coordinator and Terri Ruckel is associate regional coordinator.
  Representing the Iota Mu chapter at the convention along with Warren and Lee were Belle Failla of Picayune, Jared Smith and Seth Bowman, both of Poplarville, Samuel Bond of Lumberton, Katherine Johnson of Tylertown and Dr. Justin Williamson, advisor.
  Representing the Beta Tau Gamma chapter were Brendan Massey, Jay Carney, Jocelynne Brown Sims, Rachel Carraro, Brianna Dillon and Barbara Gipson, all of Hattiesburg; Evan Thornton of Collins, Tyler Abney of Purvis, John Graves of Bassfield, Derrick Harvey of Dixie, Victoria Valliant of Picayune, advisor Dr. Jennifer Mraz, chaperone Missy Graves and the Ruckels.

Photo captions:
Pearl River Community College student Lorrie Warren of Poplarville talks about the Iota Mu chapter’s unplanned pregnancy prevention awareness project at the Phi Theta Kappa international convention.

Dr. Adam Breerwood, Pearl River Community College vice president, receives the Distinguished College Administrator Award at the NerdNation, the international convention of Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.