PRCC showchoir, JazzCats to perform

POPLARVILLE – RiverRoad showchoir and the JazzCats jazz band will present their spring concerts at 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 29, in Olivia Bender Cafeteria at Pearl River Community College.RiverRoad will perform its 2010-11 show featuring the music of Elvis Presley, Madonna and Elton John.Showchoir members are Jared Priest, Cody Stroupe, Dale Beech, Austin Williams, Hana Mitchell, Keagan Johnson, Haley Jones, Raquele Beech, Janelle Karahalios and Sarah Moseley, all of Carriere; Chance Montgomery, Ryan Morris, Josh Reynolds, Marla Ham and Hannah Pierce, all of Columbia; Drew Hedgepeth, Emily Ladner, Kristen Rice and Kayla Rigsby, all of Picayune; Dakota Youngblood and Claire Loper, both of Lumberton; Jay Magruder of Hattiesburg, David Maggard of Pascagoula, Taurean Williamson of Waynesboro, Michael Boyte of Sumrall, Kaleb Killens of Poplarville, Mariah LeBlanc of Purvis, Chasity Hawthorne of Petal and Courtney Morris of Ocean Springs.RiverRoad is directed by LaDona Tyson, director of PRCC choral groups.The JazzCats selections will feature a variety of musical styles, including swing, Latin, funk and R&B.Members of the JazzCats are:Saxophones – Stephen Berry, Josh Niebert and Mark Riley, all of Columbia; Michael Spotts of Picayune and Joshawa Billiot of Kiln.Trumpets – Aaron Carden of Lucedale, Lacey Odom of Poplarville, Kristy Noble of Gulfport, Emily Reid of Kokomo and Dale Beech of Carriere.Trombones – Marcus Lindsey of Picayune, Adam Mixon of Sumrall, Allen Grace of Hattiesburg and Kevin Shelby of Atlanta.Rhythm – Hannah Pierce of Columbia, piano; John Fisher of Poplarville, bass; Ty Adkins of Purvis, guitar; Josh Reynolds of Columbia and Jordan Vaughan of Picayune, drums; and Brandon Hutchison of Picayune, percussion.Archie Rawls, chairman of the Department of Fine Arts and Communication, and Mike Bass, assistant band director, direct The Jazz Cats.The concert is free and open to the public.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.