PRCC retirees honored

POPLARVILLE – Pearl River Community College employees gathered May 7 for River Paradise, a luau to celebrate the end of the academic year and recognize their colleagues” years of service.The annual dinner, sponsored by the PRCC Development Foundation, was held at the home of President William and Janet Gale Lewis.Highlight of the dinner was the presentation of plaques to faculty and staff who are retiring. They include nursing instructor Becky Dale, Sarah Henry, Department of Health, Recreation and Physical Education secretary; music instructor Madelyn Lee, security officer Robert Marble, Student Support Services educational counselor Gwen Pugh, English instructor Bill Nix, security officer and head resident John Robinson, nursing instructor Patrica Strebeck, Dr. Mark Watson, sociology instructor; and Diana Williams, secretary and admissions clerk for the Department of Nursing Education.Three employees received 30-year service pins – Marie Bowden, custodian supervisor; Joan Brown, secretary for the Career-Technical Department; and Archie Rawls, chair of the Department of Fine Arts and Communication.Recipients of 25-year service pins were Dr. Becky Askew, director of Research and Planning; Dr. Gerald Hampton, chemistry and physics instructor at the Forrest County center; Steve Howard, chief technology officer; Judy Wells, Student Services Coordinator and related studies instructor; and Martha Willoughby, chair of the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences.Twenty-year service pins went to Alicia Kimball, assistant director of information technology; Lynda Mitchell, coordinator of data activities; math instructor Anita Morrow, educational counselor Gwen Pugh, truck driving instructor Daniel Smith and Cynthia Taylor, library assistant.Recipients of 15-year service pins included Mary Benson, Forrest County Center librarian; Dr. Patti Crowson, director of the Physical Therapist Assistant program; Dr. Barbara Gandy, director of Retention and Adult Non-Traditional Students; Marilyn Gardner, tutorial lab supervisor; Donna Herndon, athletic department secretary; Julie Pierce, learning lab instructor at Forrest County Center; Johnnie Taylor, telecommunications manager; and Barry Upton, director of Adult Education Services.Ten-year service pins went to Chuck Abadie, public relations director; Hope Husband, medical radiologic technology instructor; nursing instructor Patricia Ladner, Dr. William Lewis, president; nursing instructor Rebecca Pullens, maintenance technician Bobby Joe Peterson, Dr. Ryan Ruckel, Forrest County Center history instructor; media specialist Cynthia Schafer, Harold Schultze, Forrest County Center biology instructor; Dr. Ross Setze, physics and math instructor; Dr. Martha Lou Smith, director of Extended Education and Instructional Design; Craig Tynes, physical plant director; and Donna Warden, assistant schedule and graduation clerk to the vice president for instruction.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.