PRCC retirees honored, employees awarded for service

An unexpected rainstorm cut short the annual Pearl River Community College Employee Appreciation Dinner on May 3 outside the home of President William and Janet Gale Lewis.The heavy rain forced many to leave early and others to take shelter on the porches of the Lewis home. As a result, the retirement and service awards to PRCC employees had to be postponed. The awards were prsented on Tuesday, May 8, to employees on the Poplarville campus and the following day at the Forrest County Center.Retirees are Dr. Stanley Hill, director of the dental hygiene program at the Forrest County Center; nursing instructor Elaine Kersh, athletic director and head basketball coach Richard Mathis, all of Hattiesburg, custodian Helen Jarvis and printer Kenny Russell, both of Poplarville; and Frances P. Pat Hartfield of Lumberton.Dr. Cecil Burt, vice president for Forrest County Operations, was recognized for 40 years at PRCC, and Dr. Joe Wesley, counselor at the Forrest County Center, for 35 years.Thirty-year recognition went to Kersh and English instructor Julia Ferguson, and math instructor Judy Roane was recognized for 25 years.Twenty-year recognition was given to Hill, Marilyn Dillard, administrative assistant to the president; Cheryl May, president secretary; Beerly Lewis, Forrest County Center director of business and financial services; band director Dr. Kyle Hill, child development lab manager Carrie Hales and dental assisting instructor Emy Addison.Recognized for 15 years of service were nursing instructor Pam Waddle, Dr. Adam Breerwood, vice president for Poplarville Campus and Hancock Center; Gloria Wasmund, secretary to vice president for economic and community development; Dr. Ryan Ruckel, Forrest County Center history instructor; practical nursing instructors Linda Griffis and Barbara Whiddon, physical therapist assistant instructor Karinna Lee, office systems technology instructor Teresa Alexander, nursing lab coordinator Sharon Nightengale and Forrest County Center bookstore employee Julie Brown.Employees who received 10-year service pins include math instructor Debbie Crovetto, softball coach Leigh White, accountant Julie Ray, Dr. Jennifer Seal, Quality Enhancement Plan director; computer science instructor Charles Cavalier, business instructor Jennifer Rester, counselor Lori Allemand, Spanish instructor Robin Nix, occupational therapy assistant director Tim Pulver, head resident Linda Fulks, dental hygiene instructor Donna Lunn, library assistant Eileen Hall, Sherry Brown, recruitment and orientation secretary; and Woodall Center custodian Eddie Cooley.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.