PRCC hosts Congressional Art Show

  POPLARVILLE – A Forrest County Agricultural High School student will receive an expense-paid trip to the nation’s Capitol as the 4th District winner in the 2015 Congressional Art Forum.
  Brooke Lane’s drawing of a tiger was named Best in Show and will hang in the U.S. Capitol tunnel for a year along with the works of other high school artists from around the country. It also received the first place blue ribbon for drawing.
  Pearl River Community College hosted the 4th Congressional District art show and awards ceremony on Monday April 20  at the Ethel Holden Brownstone Center for the Arts in Poplarville.
  Runner-up for Best in Show was Lauren Jones of South Jones High School. Her drawing entitled “Three Dimensional Skate Park” will hang in one of Rep. Steven Palazzo’s district offices. The work also received second place in the drawing category.
  Along with Lane and Jones, winners were:
•Painting – Emily Sullivan of West Jones High School, first; Allison Russell, Sumrall High School, second; Haley Guin, West Jones, third.
•Drawing -Keegan Strickland, South Jones, third.
•Mixed media – Ken Clark, Petal; first; Morgan Breitling, West Jones, second; Jessie Hartfield, Petal, third.
•Collage – Tanner Aultman, Sumrall, first; Angilique Thames, West Jones, second; Lauren Stevens, West Jones, third.
•Computer generated – Rachel James, Petal, first;
•Photography – Kathryn Kelly, Sacred Heart High School, first; Christopher Martin, West Jones, second.
•Printing – Grace Kolbo, Petal, first; Kayla Franklin, Columbia High School, second; Austin Stringer, West Jones, third.
  Teachers whose students participated are Ashley Watkins, Columbia; Sharon Long, FCAHS; Deanna Williams, Petal; Kimberly Evans, Sacred Heart, Sharon Howard, South Jones; Lori Harrison, Sumrall; and Erin Smith, West Jones.

Several high school art students attended the awards ceremony for the 4th Congressional District Art Show Monday, April 20, at Pearl River Community College. Shown with T.J. Moran and Bridgette Jones, members of Cong. Steven Palazzo’s staff, are Lauren Stevens of West Jones High School, third place in collage; Christopher Martin of West Jones, second place in photography; Morgan Breitling of West Jones, second in mixed media; Lauren Jones of South Jones High School, Best in Show runner up and second in drawiug; and Keegan Strickland of South Jones, third in drawing.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.