PRCC honors outstanding students

A VPN is an essential component of IT security, whether you’re just starting a business or are already up and running. Most business interactions and transactions happen online and VPN

  POPLARVILLE – Pearl River Community College honored its top students at the Hancock Center and the Poplarville campus on Tuesday, April 30, at the annual Awards Day program.
  Hillary Dickens of Picayune, a member of the Lady Wildcat softball team, received the William A. Lewis Presidential Scholarship to the University of Southern Mississippi.
  The Mississippi State University Presidential Partnership Scholarships went to Casey Butler of Bay St. Louis and Andrew Hedgepeth of Picayune. Hedgepeth also received the Department of Science, Mathematics and Business Leadership Award.
  The Hancock Center Leadership Award went to Kadijah Johnson of Waveland.
  Cole Coe of Waveland received the DECA Award, and Hannah Davis of Poplarville received the Skills USA Award.
  Colbie Marshall of Carriere and Chastitie Polk of Sumrall were recognized for their selection to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Academic Team.
  Citizenship Awards went to academic transfer students Magnolia Allen of Purvis and Nicholas Aube` of Poplarville; career student Anthony Hemphill of Bogalusa, La.; technical student Michelle Schaubhut of Poplarville and Hancock Center student Ashley Chasez of Waveland. Hemphill also received the Outstanding Student Award in electronics technology and Schaubhut also received the Oustanding Student Award in practical nursing.
  Students who received the Outstanding Student Award in a subject area are as follows:
Department of Business and Commerce Technology
  Business and marketing management technology – Sandra Pennington of Picayune in traditional classes and Donna Stevens of Hattiesburg in on-line classes.
  Criminal justice technology – Jeffrey James of Lumberton.
  Health care data technology – Alicia Dimiceli of Carriere.
Department of Fine Arts and Communication
  Ceramics – Summer Ard of Picayune.
  Drawing – Sandra Booker and Kayla Lee, both of Picayune.
  Design – Kayla Lee of Picayune.
  Music – Creighton Holder of Brooklyn and Kelcey Whitfield of Carriere.
  Public speaking – Shassidy Ramshur of Columbia.
  Special studios – Kim Sones of Carriere.
  Theater – Emily Murray of Bogalusa, La.
Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation
  Baseball – Braxton Lee of Picayune.
  Baskeball – Zavian Rimmer and Kalisha Washington, both of Jackson.
  Football – Darius Holder of Lumberton.
  Scholar Athletes – Mike Allizzo of Ocean Springs and Maggie Daniels of Madison.
  Soccer – Garrett Head of Oak Grove and Hannah McCarty of Tupelo.
  Softball – Brittney LeBlanc of Maurice, La.
  Athletic training -.Micah Davis of Poplarville.
  Sports administration – Presley Stiglets of Hattiesburg.
  Sports coaching – Millie Barr of Oak Grove.
  Exercise science – Charles Dumphey of Picayune.
  Wellness Center Wildcat – Dylan Garrett of Van Cleave and Kaycie Cucurullo of Kiln for most workouts for non-credit; Jimmy Pierce of Columbia and Shannon Foxworth of McComb for most workouts in HPR classes.
Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
  Creative writing – Ramsey Hunt and Jenna Goodwin, both of Poplarville; Nigel Simmons of Picayune and Jessica Teston of Petal.
  Criminal justice – Celeste Harlow of Picayune.
  English – Victoria Salinger of Picayune.
  History – Chelsy Marie Schauer of Lumberton.
  Political science – Victoria Salinger of Picayune.
  Psychology – Andrew Ramsdell of Lumberton.
  Sociology – Fredriauna M. Perry of Columbia.
  Spanish – Casey Porter of Poplarville.
Department of Industrial Technology
  Drafting and design technology – Jonathan Dos Ramos of Carriere.
  Instrumentation technology – Dustin Platt of Kiln.
Department of Nursing Education
  Nursing I – Rose Duryea of Bay St. Louis.
  Nursing II – Jade McKean of Lumberton.
  Nursing III – Brittany Lee of Hattiesburg.
  Nursing IV – Stacy Vega of Poplarville.
  Nursing Leadership – Hannah Walker of Petal.
  Mississippi Nursing Foundation – Michael “Blake” Stockstill of Picayune.
Department of Occupational Training
  Automotive mechanics technology – Josh Williams of Wiggins.
  Barbering – Ronald Shorts of Bassfield.
  Brick, block and stonemasonry – Travis Moore of Wiggins.
  Construction management technology – Jamie Garner of Picayune.
  Cosmetology – Jennifer Dedeaux of Poplarville.
  Early childhood development technology – Anecha Van Buren of Hattiesburg.
  Electricity technology – Creed Foubare of Necaise.
  Precision manufacturing and machining technology – Jeremy Cooper of Kiln.
  Welding and cutting technology – Philip Hester of Picayune, Poplarville campus; Justin Austin of Picayune, Hancock Center.
Department of Science, Mathematics and Business
  Accounting – Ariel Davis of Lumberton.
  Biology – Jordan Sprague of Kiln.
  Business – Joel Lee of Perkinston.
  Chemistry – Shelby Sattler of Lumberton.
  Computer science – Alexander Von Robke of Carriere.
  Engineering – Colt Herrington of Perkinston.
  Mathematics – Ethan Whaley of Foxworth.
  Physics – Quinn Hall of Poplarville.
  Students named to Who’s Who in American Community Colleges are Nicholas Aube`, Ramsey Hunt and Elizabeth Ladner, all of Poplarville; Madeline Baudoin, Elizabeth Gomez, Brandon Hutchison, Jorge Lawes, Michael Montgomery, Sofia Tent and William Walley, all of Picayune; Kaitlyn Noel Bennett and Chastitie Polk, both of Sumrall; Kayla Fortenberry, Allen Grace, Donna Stevens, Graham Tant and Athena Wilson, all of Hattiesburg; Mariah LeBlanc and Rachel Raynes, both of Purvis; Mary Allison McDaniel and Fredriauna Perry, both of Columbia; Brandon Strain, Tyler Strain and Kelcey Whitfield, all of Carriere; Cole Coe of Waveland, Creighton Holder of Brooklyn, Darion Matthews of Richton, Shelby Norris of Bogalusa, La.; Dustin Platt of Kiln, Matthew Reed of Diamondhead, Shelby Sattler of Lumberton, Taylor Trigg of Petal, Deddriona Waller of Tylertown and April Wane of Bay St. Louis.

Pearl River Community College students from the Poplarville and Hancock Center campuses named to Who’s Who Among American Community Colleges include, seated from left, Mariah LeBlanc of Purvis, Taylor Trigg of Petal, Fredriauna Perry of Columbia, Elizabeth Ladner of Poplarville, Creighton Holder of Brooklyn, Allen Grace of Hattiesburg, Elizabeth Gomez of Picayune, Darion Matthews of Richton, Allison McDaniel of Columbia; standing, Graham Tant of Hattiesburg, Cole Coe of Waveland, Kelcey Whitfield of Carriere, Will Walley of Picayune, Deddriona Waller of Tylertown, Sofia Tent of Picayune, Tyler Strain of Carriere, Rachel Raynes of Purvis, Chastitie Polk of Sumrall, Shelby Sattler of Lumberton, Donna Stevens of Hattiesburg, Brandon Strain of Carriere and Nicholas Aube` of Poplarville.
PRCC Public Relations photo