PRCC faculty elected to state leadership posts

HATTIESBURG – Two faculty members at the Forrest County Center of Pearl River Community Colleges have been elected officers in statewide associations.Dr. Benny Hornsby of Hattiesburg is president-elect of the Mississippi Professional Educators for 2011-12, and Doug Donohue of Oak Grove has been elected to a two-year term as vice president of the Mississippi Faculty Association for Community and Junior Colleges.Hornsby is chair of the social studies department at PRCC Forrest County Center. He will be president of MPE for 2012-13.Donohue is a mathematics instructor at the Forrest County Center. After serving as vice president, he will serve a two-year term as president of the state association.Founded in 1979, the Mississippi Professional Educators serves more than 10,200 teachers, administrators and support personnel. MPE serves members in pre_K through graduate education in both public and private institutions with the purpose of promoting better education for the children of Mississippi.The Mississippi Faculty Association for Community and Junior Colleges is an advocate for the interest and welfare of community and junior college faculty and employees who work in direct support of instruction. Dr. Kyle Hill, director of bands at PRCC, is completing a two-year term as president.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.