PRCC cheerleaders ready for 'Meet the Wildcats'

POPLARVILLE – The Pearl River Community College cheerleading squad will be front and center Thursday evening during Meet the Wildcats at Dobie Holden Stadium.The annual event begins at 5:30 p.m., and the public is invited.The 2010 cheerleading squad was named Most Improved at the UCA Cheerleading Camp at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville this summer and placed third in the cheer competition in the large division category.The squad includes Brantley Davis, Amber Davis and Chase Davis, all of Sumrall; Kyron Tyner, Larencia Woods and Lauren Jones, all of Picayune, Chelsie Dobbins and Tony Schwingle, both of Hattiesburg, Cody Hinson and C.J. Barrios, both of Poplarville; Courtney Lee and Christina Dickerson, both of Laurel, Cortney Lloyd of McComb, Diamond Husband of Richton, Colton Turnage of Sandy Hook, Raken Jackson of Gulfport, Ashley Arnau of Oak Grove and Dominique Evans of Ellisville. The Wildcat mascot is Eli Corley of Purvis.The cheerleading coach is Josh Hickson of Ovett assisted by Ciara Gunn of Carriere. Sponsor is Tom Smith of Petal, PRCC coordinator of student life.Meet the Wildcats will include introduction of the football and soccer teams and performances by the Spirit of the River marching band and String of Pearls dance squad.Following the introductions, a Back to School Bash will be held from 7 to 10 p.m. with musical entertainment and obstacle course competitions for students.”This will include things like relay races, limbo, tug-o-wars and various events sponsored by student groups on campus,” Smith said. “We want all our students, including our resident students, to participate in the back-to-school event.The 2010 PRCC athletic schedule begins Friday with the women”s soccer team hosting Mississippi College at 3 p.m. The women play against at 2 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 1, at home against Holmes Community College with the men playing at 4 p.m.The Wildcat football team opens its season at 7 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 2, at home against Northwest Community College.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.