Pearl River's PTK chapters internationally recognized

POPLARVILLE, Miss —Pearl River Community College was well represented at the virtual Phi Theta Kappa Catalyst Conference this weekend as the institution’s two chapters were honored.

PRCC President Dr. Adam Breerwood was recognized with the Paragon Award for New Presidents.

“I am honored to receive recognition from a premier student-based organization like Phi Theta Kappa,” Breerwood said. “Our entire faculty and staff work daily to promote student success. I am humbled that these elite students not only recognize but appreciate this commitment.”

Pearl River Forrest County Center’s Beta Tau Gamma chapter received the Distinguished Chapter Award, Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award, Distinguished College Project Award, and ranked in the top 100 chapters internationally.

PTK Advisor Dr. Terri Ruckel was also recognized by receiving the Continued Excellence Advisor Award.

“I am so honored this spring to receive the Continued Excellence Advisor Award for my work with Phi Theta Kappa at Pear River Community College,” Ruckel said. “It says that like PRCC, my students can expect consistency from me. I will never quit trying to find the best opportunities and futures for them.” 

Pearl River’s Iota Mu chapter, located on the Poplarville campus, ranked in the top 100 chapters internationally and PTK advisor Lisa Wall was recognized with the Distinguished Advisor Award.

“I am honored to be recognized as a Distinguished Advisor in Phi Theta Kappa,” Wall said. “I was an active member of PTK when I was in community college, and my advisors had a significant impact on my leadership development and on my overall college experience. I’m privileged to have the opportunity to positively impact student leadership development at Pearl River Community College, and I’m especially humbled that our students and administration nominated me for such an honor.

“I can testify to the personal and professional growth of our members, the successes they experience following graduation, and the contributions they make to society through their membership in this prestigious organization.  My service as an advisor in Phi Theta Kappa is my most fulfilling professional endeavor.”

According to the organization’s mission statement, the purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Pearl River’s two chapters of Phi Theta Kappa are both active at their respective locations organizing events such as blood drives, plasma donor screenings, interview attire fashion shows, community service projects and more. 

PTK students have a 91 percent student success rate, and research has shown that strong presidential leadership and support of PTK increases member success and the depth of their college experience.

To be invited to join this prestigious group, a student must complete 12 hours of college credit from their institution and secure at least a 3.4 GPA.

The Mississippi/Louisiana Region of Phi Theta Kappa was also recognized as a Five Star Region and won the Regional Award of Excellence Membership.

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats) and Facebook (@PRCCMKTG).

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities. The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability. For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.