Pearl River PTK Beta Tau Gamma chapter holds virtual induction


HATTIESBURG, Miss. – Pearl River Community College’s Beta Tau Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa recently inducted 94 new members into its organization through a virtual ceremony.

“Let me be the first to congratulate our Phi Theta Kappa inductees,” Pearl River President Dr. Adam Breerwood said. “We are in the midst of something different right now at Pearl River Community College but you’re on track for success. You’ve done it. Your future begins here and remember Wildcats never quit.”

“The benefits these Wildcats receive from becoming members of Phi Theta Kappa are tremendous,” PTK Advisor Dr. Terri Ruckel said. “You become a member of the official honor society for two-year colleges as distinguished by the American Association of Community Colleges and have access to recognition, scholarships, career training, and leadership curriculum.

“Additionally, you get to practice and hone your skills through leadership roles in your chapter, on your campus, and in the community. Just think ‘Ready, set, win!’”

Inductees were greeted by messages from PTK advisor Dr. Ryan Ruckel, Vice-President for Forrest County Center Dr. Jana Causey, Breerwood, transfer counselors from The University of Mississippi, and several PTK headquarters representatives. Current PTK officers also welcomed the inductees and offered encouragement. 

“As a fellow Phi Theta Kappa member, I can attest to the many opportunities that will be afforded to you by choosing to embark on this journey,” Dr. Jana Causey said. “Congratulations and remember Wildcats never quit.”

Inductees are listed below:

Bassfield: Qundalin Harper

Beaumont: Kailee Deakle

Bogalusa, LA: Beaylee Mixon

Brooklyn: Matthew Shattles

Carson: Alesha Raynes

Hattiesburg: Brittain Allgood, Auiana Baker, Christian Blythe, Alexander Burge, Candice Calloway, Riley Cleveland, Graham Crawford, Ron Dickson, Jacqueline Enriquez, Destiney Fountain, Tanner Graham, Marcel Harris, Sarah Hudson, Jaylon Jackson, Robert Johnson, Payton Kerley, Quoc-Bao Le, Michelle Legg, Michael Littlejohn, Trinity Lowe, Latoya McLaurin, Rayven Moody, Juliana Moore, Austin Nickey, Kari Nickey, Kameron O’Neal, Centirea Petersen, Jada Pittman, Wesley Rainey, Darius Reed, Joshua Regan, Jessica Roberts, Aryss Rose, Ryan Ruckel, Terri Ruckel, Katherine Runyon, David Slade, Hayden Slater, Preston Stringer, Claire  Sullivan, Alesha Temple, Taiya Theodore, Sydney Tillman, Trena Tran, Mary Widemire.

Heidelerg: Jessica Carmichael

Kokomo: Irina Yoder

McComb: Rebecca Russell

Mendenhall: Willie Wright

Mobile: Natalie Druhan

Moselle: Breanna Karoly

Ocean Springs: Kathleen Brown, Carson Chapman

Petal: Elijah Barela, Tatum Carpenter, Olyvia Davis, Gabriel Day, Makenzie Erickson, Aubrey Marie Gaudet, Mary Hand, Jana Joyce, Kate Langnes, Shannah Martin, Ka’Leeha Parker, Courtney Poole, Sarah Rector, Madison Rushing, Hayden Scanlon, Hannah Taylor, Kymberlin Williams, Shelby Windham

Philadelphia: MaKenzie Barnett

Picayune: Emily Whitworth

Purvis: Ping ping Cheung, Kandice Covan, Kassidy Cowart, Jared Daley, Ethan Daley, Taylor Daley, Devin Katerski, Joshua Lee, Anne Parish, Shelby Reyer, Mason Smith

Silver Creek: Shelbie Allen

Sumrall: Skylar Aultman, Amerika Espinoza, Kaitlyn Pannell

Waynesboro: Lia Britton

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats) and Facebook(@PRCCMKTG).

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities. The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability. For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.