Pearl River NTHS holds virtual induction ceremony


HATTIESBURG, Miss. — Pearl River Community College Forrest County Center’s National Technical Honors Society recently honored student success from afar through a virtual induction ceremony. 

“The advisors decided that we had to have a way to recognize our students’ success,” NTHS Advisor and Electronics Engineering Technology Department Chair Dr. David Column said. “The new inductees could not be penalized for a situation that was out of their control. We decided it would be best to put together something we could email to the students that they could then share with their friends and family.”

The National Technical Honor Society currently serves over 100,000 active members and nearly 2 million alumni since its inception in 1984. Awarding over $2 million in scholarships since 2005, NTHS honors the achievements of top CTE students, provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive, skilled workforce. For over 30 years, NTHS has been the acknowledged leader in the recognition of outstanding student achievement in career and technical education.

During the induction video, elements of the organization were explained including the seven candles that represent the seven attributes of membership: skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership. 

Inductees are listed below:

Carriere: Colton Alvis, Radiology

Hattiesburg: K Broome, Surgical Technology; Jessica Burris, Medical Lab Technician; Latoya Hinton, Surgical Technology; La’Mya LeFlore, Medical Lab Technician; Austin Nickey, Electronic Engineering Technician; Arrielle Parker, Licenced Practical Nursing

McComb: Rebecca Russell, Dental Assisting

Petal: Harrison Wilson, Industrial Electronics

Purvis: PingPing Cheung, Medical Billing and Coding; jDevin Katerski, Surgical Technology; Bailey Simmons, Licensed Practical Nursing

Any questions about NTHS can be directed to David Collum at or Amy Smith at

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats) and Facebook(@PRCCMKTG).

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities. The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability. For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.