Pearl River holds socially distanced nursing pinning

POPLARVILLE, Miss. — Pearl River Community College Associate Degree Nursing Graduates held a socially distanced pinning ceremony Wednesday to celebrate hard work, dedication and a semester to remember. 

“Encourage, be empathetic, be compassionate,” Pearl River President Dr. Adam Breerwood said. “Continue to take your heart, empathy, understanding and ability to heal out into the world. It’s needed not only in the hospitals but beyond.”

Like many college students, these soon to be nurses waited to see when they would return to normal classes as the weeks after Pearl River’s spring break flew past. They soon realized there would be no return to “normal” for them this semester and quickly went to work adapting and learning in what became the new normal. The students waited in anticipation Wednesday for a pinning ceremony that was as unique as their final semester at The River. 

Graduates, along with up to two family members, were spaced across Pearl River’s band practice field that faces the nursing building. As each name was called the students made their way across the field where they were pinned by a family member. 

Arianna Buckley shared a thank you from her fellow classmates to all those that had supported them along the way including their nursing instructors.

“Thank you for having an open door, sharing advice and offering an open learning environment,” Buckley said. 

“You are entering a different world than you thought you would upon graduation,” said Associate Degree Nursing Department Chair Dr. Arlene Jones. “It’s a world that needs you now more than ever.”

The graduates next step before joining the workforce will be to take the National Council Licensure Examination exam, a standardized test that each state regulatory board uses to determine if a candidate is ready to become licensed as an entry-level nurse. 

Those interested in learning more about PRCC’s ADN program can visit

2020 ADN graduates are as listed: 

Angie, LA: Allison Stuart, Heather Wilson

Brandon: Stephen Beane

Carriere: Jean Ann Achee, Leah Hahn, Alyssa Mancuso, Brandon Murray, Makenna Pope, Hannah Purvis, Shekera Smith 

Columbia: Desiniqua Collins

Hattiesburg: Marissa Lee, Shyla Lewis, Michael McCool, Loan Thi Pham, Anna Katherine Pickett, Alyssa Rasberry, Angel Walker

Laurel: Eriana Buckley 

Leaksville: Rachel Smith 

Lucedale: Bailey Broadus, Ramey Cochran, Kallie Ezell

Lumberton: Victoria Cerniglia, Matthan Jenkins, Catherine Junkin, Allison Russell

Mobile, AL: Logan Deese

Ocean Springs: Noah Lafferty

Pearl River, LA: Skylar Landor, Samantha Moseley

Perkinston: Jordan Ladner, Sierra Necaise

Petal: Kayla Fokakis, Catherine Shoemaker

Picayune: Shamecha Bender, Ashley Bozeman, Taia Cuevas, Debra Howell, Megan Tucker, Madyson Turnage 

Ponchatoula, LA: Lauren Perez

Poplarville: Jenna Belsome, Canton Comardelle, Mollie Ann Lee, Harlee Stuart

Purvis: Amelia Bennett

Sandy Hook: Avery Williams

Slidell, LA: Raycheal Cook 

Sumrall: Jaiden Jackson

Wiggins: Kayla Grinstead

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats) and Facebook (@PRCCMKTG).

Pearl River Community College offers equal education and employment opportunities. The College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national origin, veteran status, or disability. For inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies or to request accommodations, special assistance, or alternate format publication please contact Tonia M. Seal, Director of Admissions and Records/ ADA/Civil Rights Coordinator at P.O. Box 5559, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1060 or Maghan James, Assistant Vice President of Student Services/Title IX Coordinator at P.O. Box 5805, Poplarville, MS 39470 or 601-403-1132.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.