Pearl River continues to create CHAMPIONS by inducting 38 new members into the Iota Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa

October 5, 2023

The Iota Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Pearl River Community College welcomed 38 students into the honor society. The induction ceremony was held at the Brownstone Center for the Arts with family members, friends, faculty, staff, and administration filling the audience. 

students stand on steps on stage.
Phi Theta Kappa Iota Mu Chapter Fall 2023 Inductees

Phi Theta Kappa is known as the foremost honor society for two-year colleges with over 1,300 chapters worldwide. This evening was the Iota Mu Chapter’s 65th induction ceremony. The chapter covers both the Hancock and Poplarville campuses.  

Students selected for membership are considered academically successful having completed at least 12 credit hours of non-remedial courses with a minimum cumulative 3.4 GPA.   

Scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship are the four hallmarks of PTK. The current officers briefly shared how those hallmarks have played out for them as members of PTK. 

Attendees heard from Dr. Lance Nail, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at The University of Southern Mississippi. He shared how important it is to consider what the next steps will be with an eye on the relationships you will build. 

Man speaks into podium microphone.

“Attending Community College opened up opportunities for me,” said Langston. “I’ve had the opportunity to positively impact students’ lives in the last 30 years, and that’s so important to me.” 

PRCC Vice President for Poplarville Campus and Student Services Jeff Long encouraged students to stretch themselves for greatness. Becoming a member of PTK can help on that path to greatness with the scholarship opportunities as transfer students.  

Man stands behind podium on stage to speak.

“You have shown the ability to have pride in what you’re doing,” said Long. “The ability to put your greatness forward at a young age; that’s only going to bode well for your future.” 

After the ceremony, inductees were able to meet with representatives from The University of Southern Mississippi. Along with learning about the many programs offered at the school, students were told about the generous scholarships for transfer students. PTK members who transfer to USM after completing 48-119 transfer cumulative hours with a minimum 3.25 GPA qualify for a $3000 per semester scholarship for up to four semesters. 

Student, parent, and recruiter stand at display table in lobby space.

PRCC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Iota Mu Chapter for the fall 2023 semester are: 

Gabriela Adams, Kokomo 
Deamy Alvarado, Hattiesburg 
Abigail Bilbo, Picayune 
Audrey Bolin, Poplarville 
Noah Bowman, Varnado, LA 
Megan Butler, Picayune 
Roderick Brent, Columbia 
Julionna Clark, Hattiesburg 
Cooper Corr, Kiln 
Abigail Cothern, Franklinton, LA 
Chloe Ezell, Ocean Springs 
Shelby Fontenot, Franklinton, LA 
Breana Paige Green, Greene County 
Monica Hill, Picayune 
Olivia Hilliard, Bay St. Louis 
Juliana Jennings, Mendenhall 
Payton Johnson, Columbia 
Lane Ladner, Poplarville 
Aidan Levy, Bay St. Louis 
Vennessa Littleton, Sumrall 
Tucker Lucas, Columbia 
Jorge Eduardo Luna, Kenner, LA 
Hannah Melendez, Covington, LA 
Ethan Merwin, Picayune 
Capri Miller, Carriere 
Maddison Moore, Picayune 
James Murray, Carriere 
Elizabeth Ola, Picayune 
Breanna Parham, Diamondhead 
Aidan Rasmussen, Bay St. Louis 
Payton Rayborn, Waveland 
Bishop Smith, Hattiesburg 
Karly Smith, Poplarville 
Mari Stogner, Franklinton, LA 
Wyatt Thomas, Franklinton, LA 

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), Facebook (@PRCCMKTG), and TikTok (@prcc_wildcats).

Article and photography by Laura O’Neill.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.