Nursing students receive honors, pins

POPLARVILLE – The top students in the Pearl River Community College associate degree nursing program were inducted into Alpha Delta Nu honor society Tuesday, May 12.
Fourteen students were inducted into the Beta Mu chapter, which was formed at PRCC two years ago.
“You’re a special group,” said Dr. William Lewis, PRCC president. “You were special when you entered this program … only a few are selected and even fewer make it to the end of the trail.”
New Alpha Delta Nu members are Ashley Dawn Craft, Heather Mechelle Fullilove and Amanda Michelle Johnson, all of Picayune; CaSondra Denean Pittman, Jill Marie Poletti and Shelby Kaitlyn Sampson, all of Carriere; Garrett Paul Chiasson and Andrew Courtney Ramsdell, both of Lumberton; Brittney Danielle Brown of Kiln, Taylor Gatson Crosby of Columbia, Crystal Margaret Dewease of Purvis, Sylvia Jo Preston of Gulfport, Tori Darlene Pullen of Poplarville and Hannah Noel Williamson of Hattiesburg.
“All of us will need your service at some point,” Lewis said, adding that he sometimes hears complaints about the difficulty of the program. “That’s why it’s hard, that’s why it’s difficult. All of you will do well.”
Each of the students shared their reasons for choosing nursing as a career, many of them recounting experiences with hospitalized family members. Johnson recalled the illness and death of her grandmother followed by her grandfather 13 months later.
“We saw both the good and the bad in nursing,” she said. “It was during this time that I decided I wanted to be a nurse.”
The inductees received Alpha Delta Nu pins and certificates along with gold cords to be worn at the class pinning ceremony and at graduation. The spring 2015 class of 59 students received their pins in a ceremony on May 13 at the Brownstone Center for the Arts.

Top students in the associate degree nursing program at Pearl River Community College were inducted into the Beta Mu chapter of Alpha Delta Nu honor society on Tuesday, May 12, at Malone Chapel. They are, front row from left, Hannah Noel Williamson of Hattiesburg, Shelby Kaitlyn Sampson of Carriere, Andrew Courtney Ramsdell of Lumberton, Jill Marie Poletti and CaSondra Denean Pittman, both of Carriere; Amanda Michelle Johnson and Ashley Dawn Craft, both of Picayune; second row, Sylvia Jo Preston of Gulfort, Tori Darlene Pullen of Poplarville, Taylor Gatson Crosby of Columbia, Crystal Margaret Dewease of Purvis, Heather Mechelle Fullilove of Picayune, Garrett Paul Chiasson of Lumberton and Brittney Danielle Brown of Kiln.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Members of the spring 2015 associate degree nursing class at Pearl River Community College received their pins during a ceremony on Wednesday, May 13, at the Brownstone Center for the Arts in Poplarville. They are, first row from left, Myah Amos of Laurel, Chelsea Bates of Lumberton, Susan Baudoin of Picayune, Courtney Berthold and Kristy Biddle, both of Bay St. Louis; Kaylyn Breeland of Sumrall, Brittney Brown of Kiln, Betty Burton, LaTonya Chambers and Lalescha Chapman, all of Hattiesburg; Garrett Chiasson of Lumberton, Nadia Clark of Hattiesburg, Ashley Craft of Picayune, Taylor Crosby of Columbia, Cynthia Cuevas of Purvis, Kathy Darnee of Carriere, Crystal Dewease of Purvis, Kimberly Freeman of Petal, Rachel Frierson of Carriere, Heather Fullilove of Picayune; second row, Christopher Giles of Hattiesburg, Emma R. Giveans of Carriere, Amerial Glenn of Hattiesburg, Delilah Grant of Poplarville, Dennis Greenawalt of Purvis, Gabrielle Gutierrez of Violet, La., Melissa Gutierrez of Picayune, Tina Hall of Angie, La., Jacentha Hammond of Sumrall, Michelle Herndon of Gulfport, Shana Howard of Columbia, Lucy Inman of Sumrall, Amanda Johnson of Picayune, Ashley Jordan of Carriere, Bonnie Lachute of Picayune, Marie Lafrance of Bay St. Louis, Courtney Lawson of Purvis; third row, Courtney Lee of Carriere, Bradley Lott of Sumrall, Maria Morrison of Wiggins, Kristian Novem of Sumrall, CaSondra Pittman of Carriere, Alex Pizarras of Hattiesburg, Jill Poletti of Carriere, Jerri Pounds of Columbia, Kayla Prater of Picayune, Slyvia Preston of Gulfport, Tori Pullen of Poplarville, Andrew Ramsdell of Lumberton, Shelby Sampson of Carriere, Suada Shera of Waveland, Emily Smith and Nicholas J. Smith, both of Poplarville; Joseph Speights of Sumrall, Penny Taggart of Carriere, Caitlyn Terrell of Bogalusa, La.; Leah Terrel of Foxworth, Taylor Welch of Picayune and Hannah Williamson of Hattiesburg.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.