Lee wins congressional art competition for second time

POPLARVILLE – For the second consecutive year, Kayla Lee walked away from the 4th District Congressional Art Forum with the Best of Show prize.Lee, a junior at Pearl River Central High School, received the award Monday from 4th District Congressman Steven Palazzo, R-Gulfport, at Pearl River Community College.Your artwork last year was wonderful, Palazzo said. This is just super.Lee won this year with Reflections, a colored-pencil drawing of a crystal and silver place setting accented by a bright red flower.It will be displayed in the U.S. Capitol tunnel, along with the winning entries from the other 434 Congressional districts.Lee saw her 2010 winning drawing, entitled Tidal Pool, hanging in the tunnel while on a trip to Washington, D.C., last summer.I was really excited, she said. I didnt know what to think.As the 2011 winner, she will return to Washington this summer for a reception honoring the winners.More than 700,000 high school students have participated in the art competition since it began in 1982. In the Fourth District, 101 students from nine high schools participated in the 2011 competition. Winners include:Painting – Phelan Harris, Presbyterian Christian High School in Hattiesburg, first place; Ashley Yelverton, South Jones High School, second place; Anna Beth Waldron, Oak Grove High School, third place; Amber Mott, West Jones High School, honorable mention.Computer generated art – Kienan Clement, Pearl River Central, first place; Jenna Thompson, Pearl River Central, second place; Justin Pilkin, Pearl River Central, third place.Prints – Sarah Kerry, Pearl River Central, first place; Kate Satimore, Pearl River Central, second place; Brett Carden, Pearl River Central, third place; Cortney Ensey, Pearl River Central, honorable mention.Drawing – Patricia Chastain, Pearl River Central, first place; Lauren Chadwell, West Jones, second place; Nick Moss, Petal High School, third place; Haden Hinton, West Jones, honorable mention.Collage – Christy Lacher, Pearl River Central, first place; Anna McDonald, Pearl River Central, second place; Amber Klem, Petal, third place; Samaria Outlaw, Petal, honorable mention.Mixed media – Rhea Phillips Valentine, Sumrall High School, first place; Madison Foster, West Jones, second place; Cori Bush, West Jones, third place; P. Rose Emmons, Sumrall, honorable mention.Photography – Amy Eaverson, Presbyterian Christian, first place; Rebekah Felber, Columbia High School, second place; Holly Penton, Pearl River Central, third place; Ashley Harris, Pearl River Central, honorable mention.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.