Lady Wildcats sign 10 to soccer scholarships

POPLARVILLE – Ten high school seniors have signed scholarships to join the championship Lady Wildcat soccer team at Pearl River Community College.The freshmen will join eight players returning to the team which captured the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges 2009 championship.”Our recruiting class for the fall of 2010 is very talented,” Coach Jack Byrd said. “We will be very fast and physical. Our team will benefit greatly from the addition of these young ladies.”Byrd expects the 2010 team to have more depth than last year”s team.”Unlike past seasons, our freshman and sophomores will be competing for playing time at every position on the field,” he said. “The one thing that makes this class so remarkable is that every single signee has been offered a scholarship by a four-year institution.”The new players are:Amanda Ashlee Arnau of Oak Grove High School. Arnau is a midfielder /forward and was named to the All-District First Team. She also has been named Division Player of the Year and Outstanding Midfielder and played on the 2007 state high school championship team. She was a member of the 2006 District V Honors Band and was a state champion in gymnastics in 2002, 2004 and 2006. She is an active member of the Grace Temple youth group. She is the daughter of Ronald Arnau and Trish Arnau.Nicole Fortenberry of Forrest County Agricultural High School. Fortenberry is a defensive player and was named FCAHS Soccer Defensive Most Valuable Player for the past four years. She also was named to the 2009 All-District Soccer Team and the 2009 Forrest County Basketball All-Tournament Team. She has been a varsity cheerleader for four years and and is a National Merit Scholar and a member of the National Society of Distinguished High School Students, Who”s Who Among American High School Students, Beta Club and Student Council. She is a volunteer counselor at Abbie Rogers Civitan Camp for Disabled Adults and Children and a member of the Dixie Baptist Church youth group. She is the daughter of Davey and Denise Fortenberry.Stephanie Fratesi of Washington School in Greenville. Fratesi will play basketball at PRCC as well as soccer. She was named the private school North Basketball Player of the Year and played in soccer and basketball All-Star games. She is the daughter of Beverly and Joey Fratesi.Carleigh Holley of Tupelo High School. Holley plays left midfield and forward. She is an active member of the youth group at Orchard United Methodist Church. She is the daughter of Mark Holley and Debbie Tubb.Victoria Lusco of Bay High School in Bay St. Louis. Lusco has been playing organized soccer for only two years but is a strong defensive player. She is the daughter of Carol and Ralph Lusco.Breann Martin of Poplarville High School. A goalie, Martin was named Most Valuable Player in 2008-09 and 2009-10 and was named to the All-District Team both years. She also competes in rodeos. She is the daughter of Bruce and Sandra Martin.Payton Morris of Petal High School. Morris is a central defender who will be participating in the Mississippi High School Activities Association All-Star Game. She has been named to the All-District team. She is the daughter of Don and Paige Morris.Jordan Organ of Forrest County AHS. Organ plays left midfield and forward. She was named Offensive Most Valuable Player in 2007 and 2009 and All-Around MVP in 2008 and 2010 and was selected for the 2009 All-District Team. She is the daughter of Robert Organ and Karen Stewart.Chelsea Smith of Tupelo High School. Smith is a center defender. She also is a life guard and member of Tupelo Free Will Baptist Church. She is the daughter of Renee Smith.Heather Smith of Oak Grove High School. A forward, Smith has received honors for All-Conference, Best Offensive and Most Goals Scored. She also plays basketball and softball and runs track. She is the daughter of Jamey Smith and Theresa Smith.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.