Lady Wildcats 0-3 after three-game losing sweep at Faulkner Tournament

BAY MINETTE, Ala. Pearl River Lady Wildcats opened their 2012 softball season on chilly, but sour notes here Saturday; dropping three straight games to Northwest Florida State, Chipola (Fla.), and Darton (Ga.) in the Faulkner State (Ala.) Tournament. PRCC opened the day with a 17-4 setback to NWFS, then followed with a 19-0 blowout loss to Chipola before falling to Darton 6-0. In the first game, Northwest Florida opened the first frame with two runs, but Pearl River answered with a solo run in the bottom of the inning. NWFS added a solo runs in the top of the third and fourth innings, then padded its lead to 7-1 with three more in the fifth before blasting the Lady Wildcats with 10 in the sixth. PRCC scored three in the bottom of the sixth before the game ended via the eight-run rule. NWFS starter Rose Poriolli got the win, giving up seven hits, striking out eight, and walking three; while River starter Brittany LeBlanc (0-1) out of North Vermillion High in Lafayette, La., got the loss. LeBlanc gave up 13 hits, struck out three, walked five, and hit two batters. Ashlyn Masters paced Northwest Florida with a homer, a double, and two singles; while Michelle Phelps doubled and singled, Elizabeth Kelligan had two base hits, and Amber Husley, Shelby Knox, and Amanda Van Vranken all singled. Whitney Waits of Oak Grove High led the Lady Wildcats with three singles, while LeBlanc doubled, and Amanda Emerson of Sumrall High, Morghan Necaise of Purvis High, and ETrareo Warren of Meridian High all had base hits. PRCC committed two errors in the game to the winners one. In the second game, Chipola score a solo run in the top of the first before blowing it opening with a 12-run barraged in second. CCC iced the game with six more runs in the third before the game was called via the eight-run rule in the fifth. Starter Michele Hester got the win in her three innings on the mound, giving up five hits and striking out five; while Lindsey Hamlin struck out one after relieving in the fourth. PRCC starter tarter Neely McCrary (0-1) of Petal High got the loss, giving up 11 hits, striking out eight, walking seven, and hitting one batter. Ebony Wright led Chipola with three singles, while Chelsey Steedley tripled and doubled, Jasmine Tanksley had two singles, and Mya Anderson, Stephanie Garrels, Hamlin, and Eva Voortman all had base hits. Waits two singles led the Lady Wildcats at the plate, while McCrary doubled and Cuevas and Janessa Dedeaux both had base hits. Pearl River committed a whopping six errors in the setback, while Chipola played error free. In the nightcap game, Darton went up 2-0 in the bottom of the first, then padded its lead with three in the fourth and a solo run in the fifth. Starter Katy Jorday got the win, hurling a two hitter; while striking out 15 and walking two. Starter McCrary (0-2) got the loss, giving up four hits and striking out one in her one inning on the mound; while LeBlanc relieved in the second. She gave up seven hits, struck out two and walked two. PRCC played error free, while Darton committed two defensive miscues. Emerson and Waits both singled for the Lady Wildcats, while Kelsea Ogletree paced Darton with three singles, Holly Smith had two singles, and Amanda Jaskolski, Brandee Leamon, Chelsea Showers, Jessica Vason, and Erica Vasquez all had base hits. Northwest Florida State (formerly known as Okaloosa-Walton CC), Chipola, and Darton are NJCAA Division I softball programs. Chipola is ranked No. 7 and Darton No. 18 in the NJCAA Division I preseason poll. Pearl River is an NJCAA Division II program. PRCC returns to action Tuesday when Faulkner State (Ala.) visits Lady Wildcat Stadium for a 3 p.m. doubleheader in Poplarville before MACJC non-division rival Holmes visits Friday for a 2 p.m. twin bill.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.