Honor society chapter formed at PRCC''s Forrest County Center

HATTIESBURG – The Beta Tau Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society was chartered Monday, Nov. 8, at the Forrest County Center of Pearl River Community College.Thirty-six Forrest County Center students are charter members of PRCC second chapter. Before the Beta Tau Gamma chapter was chartered, Forrest County Center students were members of the Iota Mu chapter on the Poplarville campus.”Im excited that Phi Theta Kappa has been invited to be a part of your story here at Pearl River Community College,” said Garon Tate, regional manager of PTK chapter relations. “What makes us the most prestigious honor society in higher education are the members who have been inducted. These students have chosen to branch out from the four walls of the classroom and become engaged in their community college.”PTK was formed in 1918 in Missouri to recognize academic achievement of students at two-year colleges and to provide opportunity for growth through honors, leadership and service.”This is a real momentous occasion, a special occasion in the history of our college,” PRCC President Dr. William Lewis said. “It is not your normal college club that you are joining. The very unique thing for Mississippi students is the fact that PTK International headquarters is located in Jackson.”Membership in PTK means recognition by peers, faculty and staff of a student as a scholar and leader, he said. It also provides opportunities for scholarships to four-year institutions and signifies qualities important to future employers, he said.”Keep in mind that youre a member of a very elite group,” Lewis said.Charter members of Beta Tau Gamma chapter are Sasha Arbabha, Chelsea Boutwell, Noelle Burkman, Hollie Fasone, Lee Kindabree, Rebekah King, Sarah Smith, Mishelle Snyder, Tran Hung, Catherine Turner, Anna Wall and Nancy Warden, all of Hattiesburg; Cynthia R. Betancourt, Danielle Stalnaker, Kenneth Stalnaker and Tamara Walker, all of Petal; Kelly Goolsby, Eddie Hodges, Channa Nowell, Evelyn Stuart and Angela Whiddon, all of Purvis; Jessica Eason and Monica Eason, both of Carson; Laura A. Askin and Linda Le, both of Biloxi; Galen Bond of Picayune, Mattie Bush of Sumrall, John Clayton of Prentiss, Kayla Harvey of Liberty, Corrie Hatcher of Lucedale, Jordan Hill of Soso, Carrie Jarrett of Greenwood, Zach Magee of Seminary, David McLeod of Columbia, Candice Weathers of Pascagoula and Christopher Wilson of Brooklyn.Interim officers are Jaimi Thomas, president; Christopher Pfalzgraf, vice president; Courtney Carter, treasurer; and Chelsea Boutwell, public relations officer.Chapter advisors are Toni Cowart and Dr. Ryan Ruckel.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.