Future Leaders from PRCC recognized at William Lewis Honors Institute Medallion Ceremony

May 8, 2023

The Dr. William Lewis Honors Institute at Pearl River Community College held its annual Medallion Ceremony in the Ethel Holden Brownstone Center for the Arts on the Poplarville campus on April 24.  

Large group of students sit and stand on stage.
Honors Institute Medallion Recipients for 2023

PRCC President Dr. Adam Breerwood assisted Dr. Jennifer Seal, Dean of the Honors Institute on the Poplarville Campus, in welcoming the students, family, friends, and faculty in attendance.  

Dr. Douglas Donohue, Associate Dean of the Honors Institute on the Forrest County Campus, provided an overview of the institute. This included its creation in 2011 with the vision to expand PRCC’s base of intellectually gifted students while striving to provide exceptional opportunities for these students. He mentioned how many of the graduates continue their studies with ample scholarships supporting their way. 

To receive a medallion, students had to complete at least 21 hours of honors coursework and maintain a cumulative 3.4 grade point average. The honors coursework covers the same material as covered in regular sections of a course but in greater depth with more opportunity for students to pursue individual interests. 

Tobias Adams and Ana Salas-Mondragon, both attending the Forrest County Campus, as well as Grant Holladay and Seth Ladner, both attending the Poplarville Campus, were chosen to say a few words on behalf of their compatriots. 

Dr. Jana Causey, Vice President for Forrest County Center, Allied Health, and Nursing Programs, shared information about each student’s achievements and associations as a PRCC student. The physical presentation of the medallion was done by Dr. Breerwood and Dr. Seal. 

Several educators applaud students being honored.
Students being honored receive standing ovation from PRCC administrators.

Students Awarded an Honors Medaillion 

Tobias Adams of Oak Grove 
Aidan Aultman of Oak Grove 
Peyton Barber of Poplarville 
Hunter Bass of Petal 
Evan Samuel Bayles of Sumrall 
Klaire Bennett of Hattiesburg (Sacred Heart) 
Jacob Braxton of Rolling Fork 
Kadence Dedeaux of Perkinston 
Ameze Ekunwe of Hattiesburg (Sacred Heart) 
Honor Elchos of Hattiesburg 
Jadon Glenn of Petal 
Logan Green of Hattiesburg 
Eli Grover of Diamonhead 
Benjamin Hartley of Oak Grove 
Drew Helgerson of Picayune 
Mason Herrington, Jr. of Oak Grove 
Grant Holladay of Kiln 
Tiana Hough of Hattiesburg 
Seth Ladner of Poplarville 
Sylvia Lauderdale of Hattiesburg (Sacred Heart) 
Kymrie Lofton of Hattiesburg 
Patrick McGruder of Oak Grove 
Katie Anne McNair of Hattiesburg (Central Baptist High School) 
Micah Mixon of Petal 
Dallyn Nance of Louisville 
Dominic O’Neill of Poplarville 
Ashlyn Payton of Hattiesburg 
Sutton Perry of Sutton, AL 
Abby Pulver of Wiggins 
Andrew Purvis of Sumrall 
Logan Ratliff of Purvis 
Calvin Rester of Carriere 
Ana Salas-Mondragon of Oak Grove 
Kathryn Scharwath of Oak Grove 
John Searles of Kiln 
Ella Brooke Seymour of Petal 
Hannah Smith of Picayune 
Kayla Smith of Hattiesburg 
Kimberly Sosa of Oak Grove 
Kortlan Taylor of Hattiesburg  
Noah Taylor of Hattiesburg 
Caleb Thornton of Sumrall 
Kailey Travis of Picayune   

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit PRCC.edu and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats), Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS), and Facebook (@PRCCMKTG). 

Article and photography by Laura O’Neill.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.