Emily Murray wins fair poster contest

A VPN is an essential component of IT security, whether you’re just starting a business or are already up and running. Most business interactions and transactions happen online and VPN

  POPLARVILLE – A Pearl River Community College student recently won the Washington Parish Free Fair poster contest and has signed copies of the print to be sold at the fair.
  Emily Murray of Bogalusa, La., first tried to enter the contest two years ago.
  “But then they announced there was no poster contest,” she said. “I entered last year and it didn’t win.”
  Murray revamped her design of squares depicting Washington Parish life, making the artwork simpler. This time, she won. The prize is the prestige although she does have the opportunity to make some money from her work.
  “You do get prestige,” she said. “They gave me 30 copies that I can sell for whatever I can get.”
  She will be at the fair to add a personal signature, called a remark,  to the previously-signed copies and will receive a small percentage of the sales of those. The fair runs from Oct. 17-19 in Franklinton, La.
  A sophomore at PRCC, Murray is an art major.
  “She writes and draws all her own cartoons, which are really neat,” said art instructor Charleen Null.
  Murray also is a member of the PRCC Singers choir and has performed in PRCC and Poplarville Association of Performing Arts theater productions. She wants to pursue a career in cartooning or illustrating and possibly attend the Savannah School for Art and Design after PRCC.
  She is the granddaughter of the late Lewis V. Murray Jr., PRCC football coach from 1955-59 and a member of the PRCC Sports Hall of Fame. The high school football stadium in Bogalusa is named for him. Emily Murray’s cousin, Nathan Murray of Franklinton, La., also was a baseball coach at PRCC.

Emily Murray holds her award-winning poster for the Washington Parish Free Fair in Franklinton, La.
PRCC Public Relations photo