Community college math teachers meet at PRCC

HATTIESBURG – Approximately 50 teachers attended the 11th annual meeting of the Louisiana Mississippi Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges on Saturday, Oct. 2, at Pearl River Community College''s Forrest County Center.Keynote speaker was Elayn Martin-Gay of the University of New Orleans, author of math textbooks used at Pearl River and many of the other colleges represented. Her presentation was entitled “The Organizer and a Little Lagniappe,” focusing on helping students get themselves organized.Participants attended from Delgado Community College in New Orleans, Louisiana State University Eunice, River Parishes Community College in Sorrento, La., Baton Rouge Community College, Bossier Parish Community College in Bossier City, La.; Hinds Community College in Raymond, PRCC, Mississippi State University and Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead.PRCC instructors attending were Judy Roane, Jackie Runnels, Toni Cowart and Sharon Clark.Break-out sessions were led by Dr. E.K. Thompson of River Parishes CC, Carmen Perry of PRCC, Lorrie Joubert and Mark Delcambre, both of LSU Eunice; Donna Densmore and Gloria Hernandez, both of of Bossier Parish CC; Jeff Weaver of Baton Rouge CC and Laila Bickster of Delgado CC.During the afternoon business meeting, the association voted to award a $300 book scholarship to the college hosting the conference. A PRCC student will be the first recipient of the scholarship.Officers elected during the meeting are Susan Santolucito of Delgado CC, president; Jeff Hughes of Hinds CC, president-elect; Sharon Clark of PRCC, Mississippi vice president and newsletter editor; Sue Caire of Delgado CC, Louisiana vice president; Laila Bicksler of Delgado CC, secretary; Darlene Williams of Delgado CC, treasurer; Gloria Hernandez of LSU Eunice, Webmaster and coordinator of the 13th annual conference.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.