Cheerleaders win awards

  POPLARVILLE – The Pearl River Community College cheerleading squad brought home five top five team awards and a first place award in two-person stunt competition from the Universal Cheerleading Association camp at the University of Alabama.
  The Wildcat squad won the First Place Superior trophy in the mascot division, and Chantel Garcia of Carriere and co-captain Colt Turnage of Sandy Hook placed first in advanced stunt partner competition.
  Competing in the open co-ed division, the squad placed third overall in the game planning and sideline categories, fourth place in cheer and fifth place in fight song.
  “I enjoyed the competition,”  Turnage said. “You always think about how good you are in practice but you never really know until you’re around others. I enjoyed comparing ourselves to other schools and seeing where we stacked up.”
  Other members of the squad are Josh Carlan, Jodi Smith, Haylee Bounds, Chasity Ashe and Melissa Dragon, all of Picayune; Jace Gibson, Corey Willis and Brooke Wactor, all of  Carriere; Brice Smith and Hannah Nix, both of Poplarville; Collin Parker of Summit,  mascot Luke Owens of Bogalusa, La.; Chris Prince of Hancock, Shane Gordon of McNeill and Makayla Cooper of Columbia.
  “Since April we have been practicing hard to get our team back on track to a competitive level,” said cheer coach Candace Harper. “We were beyond excited to place in every category in which we competed. We were also mentioned as a new up-and-coming program to watch out for in the future.”
  Kyron Tyner of Picayune is assistant coach.


Pearl River Community College cheerleaders won numerous awards recently in the open co-ed division of the University of Alabama UCA cheerleading camp. They are, front row from left, Brooke Wactor of Carriere, Haylee Bounds and Chasity Ashe, both of  Picayune; Brice Smith of Poplarville, Melissa Dragon of Picayune, Chantel Garcia of Carriere, Hannah Nix of Poplarville and Makayla Cooper of Columbia; back row, Collin Parker of Summit, Jace Gibson and Corey Willis, both of Carriere, Colt Turnage of Sandy Hook, mascot Luke Owens of Bogalusa, La.;  Chris Prince of Hancock, Josh Carlan of Picayune, Shane Gordon of McNeill and Jodi Smith of Picayune.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.