Cheerleaders ready for football season

  POPLARVILLE – The Pearl River Community College Wildcat cheer squad came back from summer camp with prizes, ribbons and titles.
  The cheerleaders were named one of two Most Improved squads at the Universal Cheerleading Association camp at the University of Alabama. The other was from the University of Mississippi.
   The Wildcats placed third overall in their division and won competitions for their game day and fight song routines. The cheerleaders and mascot also received All-Superior ribbons each of the four days of camp, which was held July 27-30.
  “They did incredibly well,” said second-year cheer coach Meghan Byrd. “This is one of the most tightly knit group of young people I’ve ever been around.”
  Captain Hana Pitts of Sumrall and Jason Davis of Poplarville received a perfect score in partner stunt competition.
  The rest of the squad includes Abbey Fisher of Pass Christian, Elizabeth Glenn of Diamondhead, Karrigan White of Long Beach, Green Grayson of Magee, Harlee Stuart, Addison Smith, Ben Jones and Mckinsy Harris, all of Poplarville; Hailey Bernard, Kirsten Brunson and Austin Watson, all of Picayune; Makinley Taylor and Juan Hudson, both of Hattiesburg; Savannah Peterson and Brailey Raphael, both of Kiln; Kallie Ezell of Lucedale, Gillian May of Columbia, Carmen Douglas of Sumrall, captain Dylan Ingram of Carriere, Deshawn Evans of Gulfport and Jared Truxillo of Bay St. Louis.
   Mascots are Richard Patton of Poplarville and Wesley Fortenberry of Columbia. Assistant coach is Corey Willis.

The 2017-18 Wildcat cheer squad at Pearl River Community College is, kneeling from left, Karrigyn White of Long Beach, Savannah Peterson of Kiln, Makinley Taylor of Oak Grove, Grayson Green of Magee, Kirsten Brunson of Picayune, captain Hana Pitts of Sumrall, Brailey Raphael of Kiln, Kallie Ezell of Lucedale, Hailey Bernard of Picayune, Elizabeth Glenn of Diamondhead, Carmen Douglas of Sumrall, Harlee Stuart of Poplarville; standing, coach Meghan Byrd, mascot Wesley Fortenberry and Gillian May, both of Columbia; Mckinsy Harris, Ben Jones of Poplarville and Jason Davis, all of Poplarville; Juan Hudson of Hattiesburg, captain Dylan Ingram of Carriere, Jared Truxillo of Bay St. Louis, Deshawn Evans of Gulfport, Austin Watson and Addison Smith, both of Picayune; Abbey Fisher of Long Beach, mascot Richard Patton of Poplarville and assistant coach Corey Willis.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.