Awards presented at Forrest County Center

  The Forrest County Center of Pearl River Community College presented awards to top students on May  2.
  The Citizenship Award went to Jamie Massengale of Hattiesburg.
  Members of the Beta Tau Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa were recognized for the Distinguished Chapter Award received during NerdNation, PTK’s international convention, held in April. Beta Tau Gamma was one of 20 chapters to receive the award.
  “To be considered for this award, our chapter submitted entries for both the Honors in Action Project and College Project,” said Dr. Terri Ruckel, one of the Beta Tau Gamma advisors.
  Doug Donohue also recognized Phi Theta Kappa and Honors College sponsors: Dr. John and Susan Donohue, Drs. Terri and Ryan Ruckel, Southern Bone and Joint Specialists, Honeybaked Ham of Hattiesburg, Carraro Construction, Boe Farms, Forrest and Lamar County Boards of Supervisors, The James Agency Nationwide Insurance, Drs. Aaryn Purvis, Rudy Gatlin, Jennifer Mraz and Jana Causey, Doug Donahue, Mecklin Stevens, Kirk Powell and Missy Graves.           
  Subject area awards went to:
  Biological sciences – Samantha Jackson of Greene County.
  Chemistry – Brandon Grayson of Hattiesburg.
  Communications – Meaghan Holsen of Hattiesburg. 
  Computer science – Angela Brownlee of Hattiesburg.
  Criminal justice, academic – Olivia Johnson of McLain.
  Criminal justice, technical – Scott Patterson of Sumrall.
  Dental assisting technology – Stacy Everhardt Gonzalez of Poplarville.
  Dental hygiene technology – Andrea Donovan of Gulfport.
  Electronics technology – Joe Delcambre of Hattiesburg.
  English -Victoria Valliant of Carriere.
  Fine arts – Will Curtis of Hattiesburg.
  Geography – Joyce Dawkins of Hattiesburg.
  Health care data technology – Karen Bennett of Hattiesburg.
  Heating, air condition and refrigeration – Chandler Fairley of Purvis.
  History -Tyler Abney of Purvis.
  Mathematics – Justina Boles of Opelousas, La.
  Medical laboratory technology – Brittany Simpson of Petal.
  Medical radiologic technology – Jazmyn Ladner of Necaise.
  Occupational therapy assistant – Karly Slade of Poplarville.
  Office systems technology -Abbie McMahon of Petal.
  Philosophy/religion – Kevin Craft of Hattiesburg.
  Physical therapist assistant technology – Catherine Crutcher of Hattiesburg.
  Psychology – Rachael Carraro of Hattiesburg.
  Practical nursing – Boqin Hu of State Line.
  Spanish -Terri McFarlin of Hattiesburg.
  Sociology – Alison McIntyre of Hattiesburg.
  Welding – Willie Mitchell of Hattiesburg.
  Creative Writing: Samantha Jackson of Neely, first; Kacey Toney of Purvis, second; Nathan Claret and Axel B. Doyle, both of  Hattiesburg, third.
  Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges – Sandra Silvain, Leslie England, James Massengale, Brianna Dillon, Jocelyne Brown Sims, Lynnessa Best, Meaghan Holsen, Regan Brown, Kayla Theodore, Rebecca Farmer, Thomas Catlett, Kevin Craft, Rebecca Applewood and Dana Jones, all of Hattiesburg; Zachary McPhail, Greg Myers, Stanford Gwin, Tyler Abney and Barbara Gipson, all of Purvis; Evan Thornton and Kayla Graves, both of Collins; Elna Gamer and Rhegan Seymour, both of Petal; Victoria Valliant and Katelyn Briggs, both of Carriere; Lauren Robinson of Magee, Cheyenne Baker of Beaumont, Cindy Le of Ocean Springs, Anna Wren of Oxford, Kevin Jarrell of Tylertown, Hannah Landrum of Columbia, Tierney Manning of Sumrall, Julie Laird of Brookhaven, John Graves of Bassfield, Miranda Fazende of Poplarville and Andrea Donovan of Gulfport.

Dr. Ryan Ruckel presented the Forrest County Center Citizenship Award for Pearl River Community College to Jamie Massengale of Hattiesburg during a May 2 ceremony.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Scott Patterson of Sumrall, second from left, received the criminal justice technology award and Olivia Johnson of McLain received the academic criminal justice award at Pearl River Community College’s Forrest County Center. Making the presentations were instructors Randy Johnson, left, and Dr. Robbie Johnson.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Dr. Terri Ruckel presented the Pearl River Community College Forrest County Center creative writing awards to, from left, Samantha Jackson of Neely, first; Kacey Toney of Purvis, second; Nathan Claret and Alex B. Doyle, both of Hattiesburg, third. They received the awards during a May 2 ceremony.
PRCC Public Relations photo

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.