Auburn showchoir wins contest

  POPLARVILLE – The Auburn Varsity Singers won the Grand Champion title at the Mississippi Showchoir Contest held Feb. 5 and 6 at Pearl River Community College.
  The group from Auburn, Ala., High School also received the River Road Award as the most encouraging, respectful and best behaved group at the competition, the best visual performance honor and first place in the large mixed choir division. Hayden Johns received the Solo Award.
  Runners up for the championship were Petal Soundsations, first; Jackson Prep, second; Central Attraction from Pearl River Central, third; and Petal Innovations women’s showchoir, fourth.
  Jackson Prep won the best vocal performance and best show design awards. Petal Innovations received the best costume award.
  An estimated 600 middle and high school students from 17 schools participated in the contest.
  Results from middle school competition on Feb. 5 are as follows:
  Class A – Northeast Jones Tiger Vibe, first; Laurel INSYNC, second; West Jones Centerstage, third.
  Class AA – Petal Spark, first; Jackson Prep Fusion, second; South Jones Infusion, third.
  Petal Spark won the best vocals, best visual performance and best show design awards. Northeast Jones Tiger Vibe received the best costumes award.
Jennalynn Purvis from Petal was named best female performer and the boys of Laurel INSYNC were name best male performers. The River Road award went to Laurel INSYNC.
  Results from high school preliminary competition on Feb. 6 are as follows:
  Small mixed groups – Biloxi Sound Surge, first; Crestview, Fla., Chanticleer, second; The Premiers from Columbia Academy, third.
  Women’s division – Petal Innovations, first; Auburn Elan, second; Pearl River Central Illumination, third.
  Medium mixed groups – Central Attraction from Pearl River Central, first; Sumrall Legacy, second.
  Large mixed groups – Auburn Varsity Singers, first, Jackson Prep Reveillon, second; Petal Soundsations, third.

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.