Anderson, Kelly honored by HEADWAE

  POPLARVILLE – A long-time Pearl River Community College instructor and one of her students were among those honored Tuesday, Feb. 18, during annual HEADWAE events in Jackson.
  Susan Anderson, chair of the business and commerce technology department and instructor of computer programming, and Jonathan Kelly represented PRCC.
  Established in 1987 by the Mississippi Legislature, HEADWAE brings outstanding students and faculty from the state’s colleges and universities to Jackson where they are introduced to both the Mississippi House of Representatives and the Senate and recognized by name at a luncheon attended by institution leaders, corporate sponsors and legislators.
  “I was very surprised when I learned that I was the college’s HEADWAE recipient,” Anderson said. “I am very blessed and honored to be able to work at a wonderful place with an outstanding group of fellow teachers.”
  Anderson holds the associate in applied science degree from PRCC and has completed additional course work at the University of Southern Mississippi. She has taught at PRCC for 30 years and is listed in Who’s Who Among Community College Teachers.
  She and her husband, Tim, live in Poplarville and are the parents of two adult children.
  Kelly is a President’s and Dean’s List scholar and is listed in the 2013-14 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. He has worked at Wheat’s Home and Building Supply and Crossroads Feed and Seed and is a member of West Union Baptist Church.
  “I am very honored to receive this award,” Kelly said. “I thank all those who stand beside me and help keep me motivated.”
  Kelly hopes to work in information technology or teach computer technology following graduation. He and his wife, Jennifer, live in Poplarville. He is the son of Roger Dale Kelly abnd Kausaundra Rene Harrison.

Susan Anderson

Jonathon Kelly

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.