4 PRCC students named to PTK All-Mississippi Academic team

Photos of two women and two men; from the left are Erin Clifford, Takia Young, Patrick Dunkle and Shui Lin

Four students from Pearl River Community College have been named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Mississippi Academic Team for 2021-22.

Students selected from the Iota Mu chapter on the Poplarville campus are sophomores Erin Clifford of Ocean Springs and Takia Young of Lumberton.

Students selected from the Beta Tau Gamma chapter, located at the Forrest County Campus in Hattiesburg, are sophomores Patrick Dunkle of Petal and Shui Lin of Hattiesburg.

All of the students learned of their honor last month. 

Clifford’s major is Political Science with a Pre-Law emphasis. She hopes to serve as a Child-Advocacy attorney one day. 

She currently serves as president for the Iota Mu Chapter and as the Career Technical Education representative for the MS/LA Region of PTK. She also plays on the PRCC soccer team and has a 3.93 G.P.A. 

“I am incredibly honored to have been selected as an All-Mississippi Scholar,” said Clifford. “This could not have been possible without the never-ending support our advisors give to every member of Phi Theta Kappa. 

“I would especially like to thank Dr. (Lisa) Wall. Her support while serving as president has been exemplary, and she has pushed me to develop leadership qualities I will carry with me for the rest of my life.”

Young is majoring in nursing with a minor in Spanish. She serves as the Student Body secretary and the Vice President of Scholarship for Phi Theta Kappa. She has a 3.8 G.P.A., plans to graduate in May and attend The University of Southern Mississippi to take part in the nursing program. 

“It is such an honor to be recognized for this award,” said Young. “It means a lot to even be considered, but to know that I am being recognized is truly amazing.

“I would first like to thank God for giving me this opportunity. I would like to thank my family and friends for supporting me. Last but certainly not least, I would like to thank my wonderful advisors for believing in me and even considering me for this award. It means so much.”

Dunkle, 19, a Civil Engineering major, plans to attend Mississippi State University. 

“I feel blessed and honored to be awarded this scholarship and being on the All-Mississippi Academic Team,” said Dunkle. “I will work harder than before to meet the expectations and represent PRCC honorable.”

He serves as president of Phi Theta Kappa. He is also a member of Mu Alpha Theta and the Dr. William Lewis Honors Institute. 

Lin, 30, is a computer science-software engineering major. After graduation, he would like to attend either Columbia University or Stony Brook University.

“It is a great honor and big surprise to be nominated as one of the contenders for PTK All-Mississippi/All USA,” said Lin. “When I went back to college to continue my education in my late 20s, I did not expect to be a straight-A student. 

“Fortunately, I met the most professional and patient instructors at PRCC, who helped me step by step to academic success.”

Lin serves as vice president of the Beta Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa and is a Mississippi-Louisiana regional officer. He is also a member of Mu Alpha Theta, Sigma Kappa Delta English Honor Society, the Science Club, and an officer in the Dr. William Lewis Honors Institute.

Said Lin, “What has excited me the most about being a PRCC student are the best advisors in the world. They are like my family in the school, always so kind, patient and professional to help me solve all the puzzles with their time.”

For the latest news on Pearl River Community College, visit PRCC.edu and follow us on Twitter (@PRCC_Wildcats) Instagram (PRCCWILDCATS) and Facebook(@PRCCMKTG).

Each community college president is asked to bring two (2) wrapped door prizes, minimum value of $50 each. We will have a station set up at the conference for you to drop off the door prizes.

Each community college is asked to provide name tags for their Board members, administration, and staff attending the conference.